Bioethics: An Undergraduate Research Guide : Stem Cell Research
News
- Newspaper Source PlusNewspaper Source Plus includes 1,520 full-text newspapers, providing more than 28 million full-text articles.
- Newspaper Research GuideThis guide describes sources for current and historical newspapers available in print, electronically, and on microfilm through the UW-Madison Libraries. These sources are categorized by pages: Current, Historical, Local/Madison, Wisconsin, US, Alternative/Ethnic, and International.
Organizations
- Stem Cell Reserach Archives ProjectThe Stem Cell Research Archives Project at the University of Wisconsin-Madison Libraries collects, preserves, and provides access to records of stem cell research at UW-Madison, as well as reactions in Wisconsin to work accomplished or underway at UW-Madison.
- WiCell Research InstituteWiCell Research Institute is a private non-profit organization with a mission to provide human embryonic stem cells for research purposes to academic scientists all over the world.
- UW Stem Cell & Regenerative Medicine CenterA comprehensive site of research on campus involving stem cells.
- National Stem Cell Foundation"The National Stem Cell Foundation is a 501(c)3 non-profit organization that supports peer-reviewed research and clinical trial collaborations in the field of adult stem cell therapies with the potential to treat or cure conditions and diseases"
- Bedford Research FoundationThe Bedford Research Foundation is a "biomedical institute which exists to conduct stem cell and related research for diseases and conditions which currently have no effective methods of treatment or cure."
- International Society for Stem Cell ResearchThe International Society for Stem Cell Research (ISSCR) is an independent nonprofit organization" which works to "foster the exchange of information on stem cell research."
About Stem Cell Research
This Research Guide includes sources dealing with the science behind stem cell research and related political, religious, and ethical controversies.
Try searching these terms using the resources linked on this page: stem cell research, embryonic stem cell*, stem cell* AND Congress, stem cell* AND Alzheimer (or another relevant disease), stem cell* AND ethic*, embryo* AND medical ethic*, stem cell* AND cloning
Overview Resources - Background Information
- Opposing Viewpoints Resource CenterOpposing Viewpoints Resource Center (OVRC) provides viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles related to controversial social issues.
- CBHD: Stem Cell Research ArticlesThe Center for Bioethics & Human Dignity at Trinity University "explores the nexus of biomedicine, biotechnology, and our common humanity." They provide excellent resources for familiarizing oneself with the all sides of the issue.
- Stem Cell InformationThe National Institutes of Health provides comprehensive scientific information about stem cells and federal research policies. Many links to stem cell research sites are also included.
Books
Good Science: The Ethical Choreography of Stem-Cell Research by ISBN: 9780262026994Publication Date: 2013-12-20
Life's Blueprint: The Science and Art of Embryo Creation by ISBN: 0300196636Publication Date: 2014-10-28
People's Science: Bodies and Rights of the Stem Cell Frontier by ISBN: 9780804782975Publication Date: 2013-06-05
Regenerating Bodies: Tissue and Cell Therapies in the Twenty-First Century by ISBN: 9781138020115Publication Date: 2014-01-03
Stem Cell Dialogues: A Philosophical and Scientific Inquiry into Medical Frontiers by ISBN: 9780231539401Publication Date: 2015-06-23
Articles - Scholarly & Popular
- Academic SearchIncludes scholarly and popular articles on many topics.
- Biological AbstractsThe Biological Abstracts database covers anatomy, bacteriology, behavioral sciences, bioengineering, biotechnology, cell biology, clinical medicine, genetics, immunology, microbiology, nutrition, parasitology, pathology, pharmacology, physiology, radiation and systematic biology, toxicology, virology, and zoology.
- PubMedIncludes articles related to the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, pharmacy, allied health, health care systems, and pre-clinical sciences.
- Biotechnology & Bioengineering Abstracts (BBA)Includes articles across all areas of biotechnology and bioengineering, including medical, pharmaceutical, agricultural, environmental and marine biology.
Statistics
- Data Citation IndexThe Data Citation Index provides a single point of access to quality research data from repositories across disciplines and around the world.