Bioethics: An Undergraduate Research Guide : Food Shortages/Food Supply
News
- Newspaper Source PlusNewspaper Source Plus includes 1,520 full-text newspapers, providing more than 28 million full-text articles.
- Newspaper Research GuideThis guide describes sources for current and historical newspapers available in print, electronically, and on microfilm through the UW-Madison Libraries. These sources are categorized by pages: Current, Historical, Local/Madison, Wisconsin, US, Alternative/Ethnic, and International.
Organizations
- Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO) of the United NationsThe FAO leads international efforts to defeat hunger.
- International Food Policy Research Institute (IFPRI)IFPRI seeks sustainable solutions for ending hunger and poverty.
- International Fund for Agricultural Development (IFAD)An agency of the United Nations, IFAD is dedicated to eradicating poverty and hunger in rural areas of developing countries.
- Save the ChildrenHas programs in the U.S. and throughout the world.
- World Food Programme"The World Food Programme (WFP) is the leading humanitarian organization fighting hunger worldwide, delivering food assistance in emergencies and working with communities to improve nutrition and build resilience."
About Food Shortages/Food Supply
This Research Guide focuses on the economic and political dimensions of shortages in the world food supply, including technical solutions, agribusiness and the role of affluent nations in the food crisis.
Try searching these terms using the resources linked on this page: food supply AND famine, food supply AND drought, "developing areas" AND food, hunger AND food supply, malnutrition AND food supply, food supply AND climate change, food supply AND industr*
See Also: names of individual countries or regions (e.g., food supply AND Ethiopia)
Overview Resources - Background Information
- Opposing Viewpoints Resource CenterOpposing Viewpoints Resource Center (OVRC) provides viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles related to controversial social issues.
- World Food SituationInformation from the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations
Books
Regenesis: Feeding the World without Devouring the Planet by ISBN: 9780143135968Publication Date: 2022
How the Other Half Eats: The Untold Story of Food and Inequality in America by ISBN: 9780316427265Publication Date: 2021
Hot, Hungry Planet: The Fight to Stop a Global Food Crisis in the Face of Climate Change by ISBN: 9781250084200Publication Date: 2017-05-09
Never Out of Season: How Having the Food We Want When We Want it Threatens Our Food Supply and Our future by ISBN: 9780316260725Publication Date: 2017-03-14
Articles - Scholarly & Popular
- Academic SearchIncludes scholarly and popular articles on many topics.
- CAB AbstractsIncludes all aspects of crop production and agronomy. Worldwide coverage. Focus on applied field research.
- Food Science and Technology Abstracts (FSTA)Covers a wide range of food products and production processes, food law and toxicology.
- PAIS (Public Affairs)Public Affairs Information Service covers public policy, social policy, and the social sciences in general.
- SocINDEX with Full TextIncludes full text for a variety of journals and books encompassing all sub-disciplines of sociology and closely related areas of study
Statistics
- CountrySTATIntegrated food and agricultural statistics for selected countries.
- FAOSTAT: FAO Statistical DatabasesFAOSTAT is a collection of online databases containing more than 1 million time-series records covering international agricultural statistics for 210 countries. Data are provided by national governments or extrapolated by FAO (Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations) staff.