Skip to main content

Chican@ & Latinx Topics : Special & Archival Collections

This research guide provides an introduction to Chicanx/Chican@ & Latinx/Latin@ topics & resources at UW-Madison and beyond.

UW-Madison Collections

University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
Resources within the collections are loosely organized into collections that span a range of subjects including art, ecology, literature, history, music, natural resources, science, social sciences, the State of Wisconsin, and the University of Wisconsin. Digital resources include text-based materials such as books, journal series, and manuscript collections, photographic images, slides, maps, prints, posters, audio, and video. Includes materials on Chicanx and Latinx populations. Samples of the collection:

 

 

University of Wisconsin-Madison Archives
Collections focus on resources relating directly to UW-Madison, including original source documents from administrative offices and from faculty and staff. Also includes materials that document the development of affiliated groups and organizations such as student and staff organizations and societies.

 

Wisconsin Historical Society Archives
Collections include materials on the history of the United States and Canada. Emphasis includes Wisconsin and the West; radical and reform movements; economic and labor history; minorities and immigrant groups; and, churches and religious groups. Serves as the official depository for all State of Wisconsin government publications.

Historical Research Guide

Introduction to Historical Research Research Guide
This guide is an introduction to selected resources available for historical research. It covers both primary sources and secondary materials.

Digital Collections (Outside of UW-Madison)

Bracero History Archive
The Bracero History Archive collects and makes available the oral histories and artifacts pertaining to the Bracero program, a guest worker initiative that spanned the years 1942-1964.

 

Cuban Heritage Collection
Developed by the University of Miami Libraries, the Cuban Heritage Collection is a repository for primary and secondary sources of Cuba and the Cuban diaspora from colonial times to the present. The collection includes over 45 special collections of digital manuscripts, photographs, letters, and maps developed collaboratively by teams comprised of archivists, Digital Initiatives staff and the Cataloging Department.

 

Library of Congress Hispanic Reading Room Online Collections
Developed by the Library of Congress Hispanic Division Area Studies. Encompasses Latin America, the Caribbean, Hispanics and Portuguese in the United States, the Iberian Peninsula, and other places where Iberian culture dominated and has survived. Collections include coverage on U.S. involvement in the Mexican Revolution, Hispanic Americans in Congress, and Hispanic American Heritage Month.

 

LLILAS Benson Digital Collections
Developed by the University of Texas at Austin, the library includes 9 special collections covering a range broad array of digital projects and initiatives focusing on materials from and about Latin America, and materials relating to Latinx people in the United States. Collections of note are Onda Latina, consisting of of 226 digitally preserved audio programs including interviews, music, and informational programs related to the Mexican American community and their concerns from the radio series "The Mexican American Experience" and "A esta hora conversamos," along with VOCES Oral History Project, consisitng of materials documenting the contributions of Latinos and Latinas of the WWII, Korean War and Vietnam War generations. 

 

Latino Cultural Heritage Digital Archives
From California State University Northridge: A database featuring photographs and documents assembled from twelve collections of the Urban Archives of the Oviatt Library Special Collections and Archives. Funded as part of the Hispanics-Serving Institutions Grant of the State of California, these materials capture the history of Latinx and Chicanx people and culture in Southern California. These collections feature the arts, labor and immigration as important parts of the historical fabric of this community.