Skip to Main Content

Chican@ & Latinx Topics : Statistics: Databases and Websites

This research guide provides an introduction to Chicanx/Chican@ & Latinx/Latin@ topics & resources at UW-Madison and beyond.

Helpful Resources

Country Statistical Yearbooks Research Guide
This guide, presented by the Data & Information Services Center, provides links to country statistical yearbooks or similar collections (census, "facts and figures," etc.) for 150 countries worldwide.

 

Statistics on Women and Gender: Where and How to Find Research Guide
Where to find gender-disaggregated statistics and data within general statistical resources as well as resources entirely on women/gender topics.

 

U.S. Census of Population and Housing Basics Research Guide
Introduction to finding demographic and housing facts and statistics collected by the U.S. Census Bureau.

 

U.S. Government Publications at the University of Wisconsin-Madison
How to find U.S. government publications at University of Wisconsin-Madison libraries.

About Statistical Databases

Statistical databases provide access to numerous types of data sources compiled by local, state, and federal government agencies, regulatory agencies, and private research bodies, among other institutions. When researching statistics, it is important to evaluate data coverage dates, locations, and depth of data resources, including evaluating how the data was compiled.

Check out the links in the "Helpful Resources" box for more detailed information on statistical resources.

Heriberto Zamora. Photo by Charlie Kaijo via Flickr via CC 3.0 License.

Specific Resources

Databases

American FactFinder
The U.S. Census Bureau developed American FactFinder as its primary database for distributing census data. American FactFinder provides access to data from the Decennial Census, the American Community Survey, and the Economic Census, among other surveys. Data coverage includes population, age, business, education, housing, income, origins and language, poverty, and vetaran statistics.

Go
 
 
A comprehensive source of information about the individual counties and cities in the United States. It includes data for all U.S. states, counties, and cities with a population of 25,000 or more. Information in the County and City Data Book covers the following topical areas: age, agriculture, births, business establishments, climate, construction, crime, deaths, earnings, education, elections, employment, finance, government, health, households, housing, income, labor force, manufactures, population, poverty, race and Hispanic origin, social services, and water use.
 
 
Compiled by the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), U.S. Dept. of Education; summarizes information about American education from pre-kindergarten through graduate school. Data is selected from many government and private sources, including NCES's own survey results, and must be current and nationwide in scope. Topics include the number of schools and colleges, teachers, enrollments, and graduates, educational attainment, finances, federal funds for education, libraries, and international education.
 
 

Historical Statistics of the United States
This resource includes statistics from over 1,000 sources and includes more than 37,000 data series. It covers all data on social, behavioral, humanistic, and natural sciences including history, economics, government, finance, sociology, demography, education, law, natural resources, climate, religion, international migration, and trade - quantitative facts of American History from colonial times to the present. Major categories include: Population, Work and Welfare, Economic Structure and Performance, Economic Sectors, Governance and International Relations.

 

Pew Research Center’s Hispanic Trends Project
The project conducts public opinion surveys that aim to illuminate Latino views on a range of social matters and public policy issues, including its annual National Survey of Latinos. It also publishes demographic studies and other social science research on a wide range of topics, including economics and personal finances, Hispanic/Latino identity, education, health care, immigration trends, the Latino vote, technology adoption, youth and work and employment. The project is well-known for its estimates of the unauthorized immigrant population in the U.S.

Subjects: Ethnic Studies