Skip to main content

Chican@ & Latinx Topics : Newspapers

This research guide provides an introduction to Chicanx/Chican@ & Latinx/Latin@ topics & resources at UW-Madison and beyond.

About Newspapers

Newspaper databases provide access to electronic versions of newspaper articles covering numerous topics. Coverage will vary within each database depending on titles, geographic locations, topics, and perspectives covered. Search in multiple databases for the best research results.


Print editions of numerous newspapers can be found in the Wisconsin Historical Society as well as Memorial Library Current Periodicals and Newspaper Room, 240.

César Chávez, farm worker and civil rights activist, at the Delano United Farm Workers rally, 1974. © Joel Levine / Wikimedia Commons / CC-BY-SA-3.0 / GFDL

Helpful Resources

Google News
Comprehensive up-to-date news coverage search engine, aggregated from sources all over the world by Google.

 

Newspapers Research Guide
Sources of current and historical newspapers available in print, electronically, and on microform through the UW-Madison Libraries and beyond.

General Newspaper Databases

LexisNexis Academic
Composed of approximately 5,000 legal, news, reference, and business sources, most full text. It includes international and U.S. newspapers, ethnic and regional news sources, magazines, wire services, newsletters, trade journals, company and industry analyst reports, polls, almanacs, biographical tools, and broadcast transcripts.

 

Newspaper Source Plus
Includes 1,520 full-text newspapers, providing more than 28 million full-text articles. The database contains comprehensive full text for major newspapers such as The Boston Globe, The Christian Science Monitor, The San Francisco Chronicle, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Washington Times, and others.

Subject Newspaper Databases

Alt-Press Watch
A full text database of newspapers and periodicals from the local, national and international alternative and independent press focusing on politics, government, art, the environment, labor, and religion. This resource provides a source of alternative viewpoints and perspectives to complement and challenge mainstream media coverage. Over 670,000 articles in around 200 publications are indexed. Covers topics on Latinx and Chicanx issues.

 

Ethnic NewsWatch
Features newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. With titles dating from 1990, ENW presents a comprehensive, full-text collection of more than 1.8 million articles from more than 315 publications offering both national and regional coverage. Dozens of major Latinx publications are featured, including El Nuevo Herald, and El Andar. Ethnic NewsWatch: A History provides older years of newspaper coverage from 1960-1989.

 

Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980
This collection of Spanish and English language newspapers stems from the Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project at the University of Houston. When complete, it will consist of 350 titles dating from the 19th and 20th centuries and stemming from throughout the United States. Although heavily focused on the Mexican-American community, it will also include newspapers documenting other ethnic groups, primarily Puerto Ricans and Cubans in the U.S..

 

Historic Mexican & Mexican American Press
The Historic Mexican and Mexican American Press collection documents and showcases historic Mexican and Mexican American publications published in Tucson, El Paso, Los Angeles, San Francisco, and Sonora, Mexico from the mid-1800s to the 1970s.