- University of Wisconsin-Madison
- Research Guides
- Chican@ & Latinx Topics
- Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, & Biographies
Chican@ & Latinx Topics : Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, & Biographies
This research guide provides an introduction to Chicanx/Chican@ & Latinx/Latin@ topics & resources at UW-Madison and beyond.
Helpful Resources
Basic Reference Resources Research Guide
An introduction to reference sources, such as dictionaries, encyclopedias, and more, available in the collections of the UW-Madison Libraries.
Dictionaries
- Dictionary of Latin American Cultural Studies byCall Number: Electronic ResourceISBN: 9780813040523Publication Date: 2012
- Dictionary of Latin American Racial and Ethnic Terminology byCall Number: GN562 S74 1999Publication Date: 1999
- Dictionary of Latino Civil Rights History byCall Number: E184.S75 R69 2006ISBN: 1558853472Publication Date: 2006-12-01
- Dictionary of Race, Ethnicity and Culture byCall Number: Electronic ResourceISBN: 9781849724371Publication Date: 2009-11-10
- El Diccionario del Espanol Chicano byCall Number: PC4827 G35 1985ISBN: 9780832596346Publication Date: 1993-11-01
- Key Terms in Latino/A Cultural and Literary Studies byCall Number: E184 S75 A795 2007ISBN: 1405102519Publication Date: 2007-02-05
Subject Encyclopedias
Atlas of Hispanic-American History by Call Number: E184 S75 O287 2001ISBN: 0816036985Publication Date: 2001-08-01
Enciclopedia del Español en los Estados Unidos by Call Number: E184 S75 E53 2009ISBN: 8493477214Publication Date: 2008-10-01
Encyclopedia of Latino Popular Culture in the United States by Call Number: E184 S75 E59 2004ISBN: 0313332118Publication Date: 2004-10-01
Encyclopedia of Minorities in American Politics by Call Number: E184.A1 E574 2000ISBN: 1573561487Publication Date: 2000-01-13
Encyclopedia of Race and Racism by Call Number: Electronic ResourceISBN: 0028661753Publication Date: 2013-02-01
Encyclopedia of Race, Ethnicity, and Society by Call Number: HT1521 E63 2008ISBN: 9781412926942Publication Date: 2008-03-20
Encyclopedia of the Mexican American Civil Rights Movement by Call Number: E184.M5 M458 2000ISBN: 9780313304255Publication Date: 2000-05-30Hispanic American Religious Cultures by
Call Number: BL2525 H57 2009ISBN: 9781598841404Publication Date: 2009-07-01- The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Latino Literature by Call Number: Electronic ResourceISBN: 9781849724821Publication Date: 2010-03-09
- The Latino Encyclopedia by Call Number: E184 S75 L357 1996ISBN: 9780761401315Publication Date: 1995-11-01
The Hispanic American Almanac by Call Number: E184 S75 H557 2003ISBN: 9780787625184Publication Date: 2002-11-01- The Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States by Call Number: Electronic ResourceISBN: 9780195188424Publication Date: 2005-
Biographies
- A Biographical Handbook of Hispanics and United States Film byCall Number: PN1995.9 H47 K46 1997ISBN: 0927534568Publication Date: 1997-01-01
- Biographical Dictionary of Hispanic Literature in the United States byCall Number: PQ7420.2 K3 1989ISBN: 0313244650Publication Date: 1989-09-26
- Hispanics in Hollywood byCall Number: PN1995.9 H47 R49 2000ISBN: 1580650252Publication Date: 2000-10-01
- Latinas in the United States byCall Number: E184 S75 L35 2006ISBN: 0253346800Publication Date: 2006-05-01
- Latino and Latina Writers byCall Number: PS153 H56 L39 2004ISBN: 0684314258Publication Date: 2003-12-01
- Latino Baseball Legends byCall Number: GV865 A1 F7 2010ISBN: 9780313378683Publication Date: 2010-08-01
- Notable Hispanic American Women byCall Number: E184 S75 N68 1998ISBN: 0787620688Publication Date: 1998-08-20
- Notable Latino Americans byCall Number: E184 S75 M435 1997ISBN: 0313291055Publication Date: 1997-05-30
- St. James Guide to Hispanic Artists byCall Number: N6538 H58 S7 2002ISBN: 1558624708Publication Date: 2002-03-01