Anthropology : Archaeology

"Indexes articles from over 400 journals; with 120 journals covered comprehensively. It includes over 100,000 abstracts of worldwide literature related to the preservation and conservation of material culture and heritage."

This database indexes and abstracts more than 1700 social science and humanities journals in the fields of United States and Canadian history, and North American Archaeology. (See Historical Abstracts for non-North American historical coverage.)

Provides indexing and abstracting of over 600 key English and foreign-language periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, including select full-text coverage beginning in 1997. Nearly 2,000 art dissertations are also abstracted and indexed. Its subject matter covers archaeology, architecture, art history, crafts, decorative arts, graphic arts, industrial and interior design, landscape architecture, museology, and film, video, and photography.

"Indexes and abstracts information in world history and the related social sciences and humanities, excluding the U.S. and Canada. (See America: History and Life for U.S. and Canadian coverage.)"

A full-text journal database which provides access to more than 400 titles in the fields of African-American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, and many more... Coverage begins with volume one of each title and continues to within 3 to 5 years of the most current issue, depending on the title.

"A guide to networked open access data relevant to the study and public presentation of the Ancient Near East and the Ancient Mediterranean world."

"The central object database of the German Archaeological Institute (DAI) and the Archaeological Institute of the University of Cologne. Arachne is intended to provide archaeologists and Classicists with a free internet research tool for quickly searching hundreds of thousands of records on objects and their attributes."

"A database focusing on archaeology, historic buildings, maritime and industrial archaeology, environmental history, and the conservation of material culture--with a geographical focus on the Republic of Ireland and the United Kingdom."

"Provides a comprehensive and continually updated bibliographic dataset of the published literature pertaining to the anthropology of Mesoamerica."

"A multi-institutional initiative to create a digital collection of historical documents from Mexico from 500 A.D. to 1949."

"Envisioned to include the permanent archiving, dissemination and generation of scholarly knowledge (such as archaeological excavation reports, editions of ancient and modern texts, core early monographs, dictionaries, journals, and reports in the public domain), a portal to Ancient Near Eastern Archival Web resources, an electronic commons where scholars in the field can share data and images, and eventually an electronic publishing effort for born digital publications."

Project Dyabola includes the "Archaeological Bibliography" (expanded from the Realkatalog, subject catalog of the German Archaeological Institute in Rome). This is an international index to scholarly journals and collected works published in many languages on topics of classical, early Christian, Byzantine, early Medieval, and ancient Middle Eastern art and archaeology. Focus is on the history and archaeology of the region around the Mediterranean Sea from about 800 BCE to 476 CE. Publications date from 1956 to the present. As of November 2015, there were over 700,000 citations from 99,000 authors. There are no abstracts or links to full text. A record about an article contains the title, publication date, and page numbers, as well as a link to the author, the journal, any reviews of the work, and a list of subject headings. To find a record, keyword search either across all metadata fields or restrict to one field. It is also possible to browse the hierarchical tree of subject terms to find a particular term of interest. Search results are automatically saved for future browsing. The back button is disabled. Start a new search or revisit past searches using the right navigation panel. NOTE: Users must check in the box labeled "IP-Access" (English interface) or "IP-Zugang" (German interface) prior to clicking the Start button. From the list of databases, choose the Archaeological Bibliography in the English edition by clicking the British flag.

"Trade association supporting and promoting the common interests of cultural resource management (CRM) firms of all sizes, types and specialties."

"The only national non-profit organization dedicated to acquiring and preserving the best of our nation's remaining archaeological sites. The organization publishes the popular magazine "American Archaeology" devoted to archaeology in the United States, with additional coverage of Canada and Latin America."

"Promotes a vivid and informed public interest in the cultures and civilizations of the past, supports archaeological research, fosters the sound professional practice of archaeology, advocates the preservation of the world’s archaeological heritage, and represents the discipline in the wider world."

"The CAA promotes activities aimed at fostering a greater role for archaeology; acts as an advocate in forums and the national scene; recognizes, through awards and honours, outstanding contributions to the field of archaeology; offers conferences, professional development activities, publication and communication networks designed to transfer the successful efforts of individuals and institutions into the collective advancement of Canadian archaeology."

"An educational charity working throughout the UK to involve people in archaeology and to promote the appreciation and care of the historic environment for the benefit of present and future generations."

"The Register of Professional Archaeologists is a listing of archaeologists who have agreed to abide by an explicit code of conduct and standards of research performance, who hold a graduate degree in archaeology, anthropology, art history, classics, history, or another germane discipline and who have completed a thesis or dissertation (or its equivalent) that addresses a substantive archaeological research question."

"Established in Santa Fe, New Mexico in 1907 as a center for the study of the archaeology and ethnology of the American Southwest. Since 1967, the scope of the School’s activities has embraced a global perspective through programs to encourage advanced scholarship in anthropology and related social science disciplines and the humanities, and to facilitate the work of Native American scholars and artists." Formerly titled School of American Research.

"The Society for American Archaeology (SAA) is an international organization dedicated to the research, interpretation, and protection of the archaeological heritage of the Americas." The organization publishes the journals American Antiquity and Latin American Antiquity.

"Historical archaeology is the study of the material remains of past societies that also left behind some other form of historical evidence. The Society for Historical Archaeology advocates for a global perspective in the study and protection of historical and underwater cultural resources by educating the public and policy makers and providing a valued resource for knowledge exchange, professional development, and the maintenance of high ethical standards."

An organization with "a strong interest in preserving, interpreting and documenting our industrial past and heritage."

"The Society provides a number of opportunities for the public to become more informed about the rich prehistoric and historic archaeological resources in Wisconsin." The society publishes the journal Wisconsin Archeologist.

The Antiquities of Wisconsin, Increase A. Lapham's most important published work, includes 92 pages of text, illustrated with 61 wood engravings, and 55 lithographed plates and was the result of his research into the Indian effigy mounds found on Wisconsin's Landscape.

"Supports research, learning and teaching with high quality and dependable digital resources. It does this by preserving digital data in the long term, and by promoting and disseminating a broad range of data in archaeology."

"A connected community of professional archaeologists and archaeology enthusiasts from over 100 countries around the world." Site includes position listings.

A publication of the AIA, this popular magazine covers recent archaeological work and discoveries.

Launched by Anita Cohen-Williams in March 2007, ArchaeoSeek is designed as an online meeting place for archaeologists, including students, professionals, volunteers, and armchair archaeologists. It is an ideal place for discussing archaeological issues, sites, excavations, field schools, and other matters archaeologists might bring up. Just as with Facebook, ArchaeoSeek members set up individual pages for interacting (including messaging) with invited friends. Members can create special groups for interaction on topics of mutual interest. The site includes forums inviting all members to weigh in on discussions. Members can post blogs and photos to share with others. A special section highlights archaeological news. Member can upload and access content through their smartphones.

Brings together and integrates existing archaeological research data infrastructures so that researchers can use the various distributed data sets and new and powerful technologies as an integral component of the archaeological research methodology.

"Archaeological studies generate large amounts of data. Increasingly the management of these data are computerized. In the last few years more and more archaeological data is "born digital." The types of data may range from "traditional" database, text, images to point cloud data from laser scanning, geophysical data and many others. The processing, storage, management and archiving of these data fall under the topic of archaeological informatics."

"An international digital archive and repository that houses data about archaeological investigations, research, resources, and scholarship. The tDAR includes the entire National Archaeological Database (NADB) Reports module. The NADB was created by the National Park Service to identify and catalog the significant number of reports generated by archeological investigations for public projects across the United States."

"A collaborative non-profit organization (producer of tDAR) is devoted to enhancing preservation of and access to irreplaceable archaeological records and data. Digital Antiquity supports archaeological research, resource management, education, and public outreach by providing new and innovative ways of finding, using, and preserving archaeological information."

The European Research Infrastructure for Heritage Science (E-RIHS) will support research on heritage interpretation, preservation, documentation and management. It will comprise: E-RIHS Headquarters and National Hubs, fixed and mobile national infrastructures of recognized excellence, physically accessible collections/archives and virtually accessible heritage data.

The aim of the site is to provide a database of excavations since 2000, providing a record in English and in the local language for each season.

IANUS is a project funded by the DFG project to establish a national research data center for archeology and classical studies in Germany, requested by a DFG Arbeitsguppe and coordinated by Prof. Dr. Friederike Fless and Prof. Dr. Ortwin Dally German Archaeological Institute in Berlin.

"The Native American Graves Protection and Repatriation Act is a Federal law passed in 1990. NAGPRA provides a process for museums and Federal agencies to return certain Native American cultural items -- human remains, funerary objects, sacred objects, or objects of cultural patrimony -- to lineal descendants, and culturally affiliated Indian tribes and Native Hawaiian organizations."

"Use this site to discover, reference, and publish primary data and documentation collected in archaeology and other field sciences by professional researchers. Scroll through the timeline and map below to begin exploring data, images, reports and field documentation."

PeriodO is a gazetteer of scholarly definitions of historical, art-historical, and archaeological periods. It eases the task of linking among datasets that define periods differently. It also helps scholars and students see where period definitions overlap or diverge.

The full Open Access, official journal of the International Union for Quaternary Research (INQUA). The journal aims to publish peer reviewed papers under the auspices of the leading Quaternary association, with a special focus on recent advances in Quaternary sciences that appeal to a wide audience and that combine approaches from several disciplines.

"An expanding digital collection, featuring documentary sources and material culture from Wisconsin libraries, archives, and museums." Formerly titled Wisconsin Heritage Online (WHO).

A helpful list of Wisconsin Archaeology Resources.