- University of Wisconsin-Madison
- Research Guides
- Anthropology
- Biological/Primatology
Anthropology : Biological/Primatology
This guide presents resources and tips useful for students in anthropology classes. Topics covered include Ethnology, Archaeology, Folklore, Human Evolution, and Primates. There is also basic information about places to find statistics, images, and maps.
Ask me a question!
Thomas Durkin
Contact:
Social Work Library
Room 236
School of Social Work Building
1350 University Avenue
Madison, WI 53706
Room 236
School of Social Work Building
1350 University Avenue
Madison, WI 53706
(608) 263-3283
Website
Useful Literature Databases and E-Journals
All of these databases can be found in the Anthropology/Archaeology list of databases in the Database Library. If you are trying to find the e-journal for a specific journal title, please try Citation Search.
- Biological AbstractsIndexes 4,000 journals each year, including zoological topics.
- Environmental Science Index"Provides access to about 350 research journals in ecology." Formerly titled "Ecology Abstracts".
- GeoRef (Geology)"Produced by the American Geological Institute, indexes the earth sciences literature of the world."
- Primate Info Net (UW-Madison)The subject gateway for the Primate Center.
- PrimateLit: A Bibliographic Database for Primatology"Provides bibliographic access to the scientific literature on nonhuman primates for the research and educational communities."
- PubMed"Developed by the National Library of Medicine (NLM), [PubMed] provides free access to MEDLINE, a database of more than 11 million bibliographic citations and abstracts from nearly 4,500 journals in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, pharmacy, allied health, health care systems, and pre-clinical sciences."
- Wildlife and Ecology Studies Worldwide"Coverage includes studies of individual species, habitat types, hunting, economics, wildlife behavior, management techniques, diseases, ecotourism, zoology, taxonomy and much more."
- Zoological Record"Indexes approximately 5,000 journals, providing world-wide coverage of zoological literature. Emphasis is on systematic/taxonomic information on various animal groups."
Biological Anthropology and Primatology Books
Books about anthropology can be located by using a number of different databases.
- Try the UW-Madison catalog to see what our libraries own.
- Try WorldCat to find books and other materials owned in libraries across the U.S. as well as many countries around the world.
Are you looking for book reviews? Try this library guide to Finding Book Reviews in the Humanities and Social Sciences.
Cambridge dictionary of human biology and evolution by Call Number: QP 34.5 M35 2005 (Verona Shelving)ISBN: 0521662508Publication Date: 2005
Encyclopedia of human evolution and prehistory by Call Number: GN281 E53 2000 (Memorial Library Reference & Zoological Library Reference)ISBN: 0815316968Publication Date: 2000
Encyclopedia of mammals by Call Number: QL703 E53 2001 (Science Libraries Shelving)ISBN: 0816042675Publication Date: 2001Newer edition available online through Oxford Reference Online Premium.
Handbook of Paleoanthropology by Call Number: GN 281 H36 2007 (Memorial Library)ISBN: 9783540324744Publication Date: 2007-05-01
History of physical anthropology by Call Number: GN50.3 S64 1997 (Memorial Library Reference & Zoological Library Reference)ISBN: 0815304900Publication Date: 1997
Human career : human biological and cultural origins by Call Number: GN281 K55 2009 (Memorial Library)ISBN: 9780226439655Publication Date: 2009
Physical anthropology : original readings in method and practice by Call Number: GN 60 P575 2002 (Verona Shelving)ISBN: 013093979XPublication Date: 2002
Primates in perspective by Call Number: QL737 P9 P679 2011 (Memorial Library & Steenbock Library)ISBN: 9780195390438Publication Date: 2011
Additional Biological Anthropology Sources for Images/Audio
- Animal Diversity WebAn online database of animal natural history, distribution, classification, and conservation biology at the University of Michigan. Animal Diversity Web has thousands of species accounts about individual animal species. These may include text, pictures of living animals, photographs and movies of specimens, and/or recordings of sounds.
- Nash Collection of Primates in Art and Illustration"Digital images drawn from a variety of historical sources. [This collection] reveals how nonhuman primates have been depicted over time. This collection includes examples of fine art, printed illustration, and sculpture, as well as other media."
- PrimateImages: Natural History Collection"A collection of photographs and information about nonhuman primates. This site contains photographs of most known primate species as well as related images such as habitat, maps and food sources."
Biological Anthropology and Primatology Associations and Web Sites
- Wisconsin National Primate Research Center"One of eight federally supported (NIH-NCRR) National Primate Research Centers and the only one in the Midwest. More than 250 center scientists, through competitive grants, conduct research in primate biology with relevance to human and animal health."
- AAPA - American Association of Physical Anthropologists"The AAPA is the world's leading professional organization for physical anthropologists."
- Becoming HumanAn interactive media website dedicated to understanding the course of human evolution.
- Human Origins Database"Within you will find detailed information on fossil hominin specimens as well as extant hominoid specimens. Available information includes skeletal elements present for a particular specimen as well as measurements."
- Neanderthal Professional Online System (NESPOS)"An open source information platform about Pleistocene humans, providing detailed information about important sites, their analytical results, archaeological findings and a selection of literary quotes."
- Primate Life Histories Database"Contains individual-based life history data that have been collected from wild primate populations by nine working group participants over a minimum of 19 years. The purpose of collecting data of this type is to make comparative analyses that can shed light on the population dynamics and the social and ecological adaptations that have shaped both human and nonhuman primate evolution."
- PRIMO (PRImate Morphometrics Online)"The NYCEP Primate Morphometrics database is a resource for researchers who use metrical (including 3D) data to study aspects of primate morphology and evolution. It permits downloading of data on dentitions, crania and postcrania collected by members of the NYCEP Morphometrics Group or archived by other colleagues for public access."
- Revealing Hominid Origins Initiative (RHOI)"A sustained effort designed to illuminate the origin and earliest evolution of Hominidae."
- Smithsonian Institution Human Origins Initiative"'What does it mean to be human?’ – the theme of the Human Origins Initiative of the Smithsonian Institution – reflects one of humanity’s most profound quests. The initiative’s goal is to explore the universal human story at its broadest time scale. It seeks to stimulate new research findings that deepen an understanding of what makes our species unique and how we came to be."