Admin Sign In 

Book Reviews in the Humanities and Social Sciences  Tags: book_reviews reference  

Databases, Web sites, and print sources for finding book reviews.
Last update: Dec 09th, 2008 URL: http://researchguides.library.wisc.edu/bookreviews  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Multi-Disciplinary Databases            Print Page
  
 

Ask a Librarian

Need help?

Ask a Librarian logo

Chat requires JavaScript.

or click for more options ...

 
 

About this Guide

This guide provides databases, Web sites, and print sources for finding book reviews. Book reviews are published in a number of sources including magazines, newspapers, scholarly journals, and book review publications (e.g., The New York Review of Books, The New York Times Book Review). This guide includes databases and print sources that index all of these sources.

To find reviews of fiction books and books for the general reader, it may be helpful to look in Book Review Digest Plus and multidisciplinary databases with a variety of publications including magazines and newspapers. To find books written on a specific subject, it may be helpful to look in a subject-specific database that indexes scholarly, or academic, publications.

To begin searching for a book review, it is helpful to know the title of the book, the author's name, and the book's publication year. It is also helpful to know the subject of the book to choose the appropriate database.

 

Multi-Disciplinary Databases

For tips on searching the databases click the i button.

  • Academic Search  
    Indexes almost 3,000 popular magazines and academic journals and provides full-text articles from more than 1,200 journals. Date Range: 1984–current.
  • Book Review Digest Plus  
    Citation information, excerpts, or full text for reviews of more than 550,000 fiction, nonfiction, social science, and general science books. Includes popular, scholarly, and specialty English-language journals. Date Range: 1983–current.
  • Essay & General Literature Index  
    Indexes chapters in more than 300 English language essay collections and anthologies annually. Both humanities and social sciences topics are covered. There are no abstracts. Date Range: 1985-current.
  • Humanities Full Text  
    Indexes 566 scholarly journals on archaeology, classical studies, art, film, folklore, history, journalism, linguistics, literature, music, performing arts, philosophy, and religion. Date Range: 1984–current.
  • JSTOR  
    Includes full text of more than 500 journals in many fields -- African-American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, economics, education, history, literature, philosophy, political science, demography, sociology, and more. Date Range: Dates vary.
  • Lexis/Nexis Academic Universe  
    Contains full-text articles from U.S. and international newspapers (including the New York Times, June 1980–current), as well as some news and business magazines and trade journals. Date Range: Dates vary.
  • PIO (Periodicals Index Online)  
    Contains citations to articles from more than 3,500 periodicals in the social sciences and humanities published in North America, the United Kingdom, Ireland, France, and Germany. Mostly contents notes. Date Range: Late 18th Century–current minus 8 year
  • Project Muse  
    Provides full-text access to current content from over 400 titles representing nearly 100 not-for-profit publishers in the humanities and social sciences. Date Range: 1990-current.
  • ProQuest Research Library  
    Indexes more than 2,000 general-interest and academic journals. Nearly 1,000 periodicals are full text. Dates vary, but many full-text journals go back to 1988. Date Range: 1988–current.

  • Readers' Guide Full Text  
    Indexes 240 popular magazines in a wide range of subject areas. Subject matter covers news and current events in politics, business, science, education, religion, the arts, etc. Full-text coverage of 131 titles begins with 1994. Date range: 1983-current.
  • Reader's Guide Retrospective  
    Comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States. More than 500 retrospective general-interest periodicals (pre-1983) also included without abstracts. Date Range: 1890-current.
  • Times (London) Digital Archive  
    Includes page facsimiles of all the issues of the London Times published from 1785–1985. Date Range: 1785–1985.
  • Web of Knowledge  
    Indexes more than 8,000 peer-reviewed journals, providing complete bibliographic data and author abstracts. Date Range: 1982–current.
 

Memorial Reference Staff

Profile ImageReference Department
Contact Info:
Memorial Library
Second Floor, Room 262
608-262-3242
Send Email

Subjects:
Reference, Humanities, Social Sciences

 

Feedback

Was this information helpful?
Not
useful
   Extremely
useful
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait