- University of Wisconsin-Madison
- Research Guides
- Anthropology
- Ethnology/Cultural
Anthropology : Ethnology/Cultural
This guide presents resources and tips useful for students in anthropology classes. Topics covered include Ethnology, Archaeology, Folklore, Human Evolution, and Primates. There is also basic information about places to find statistics, images, and maps.
Ask me a question!
Thomas Durkin
Contact:
Social Work Library
Room 236
School of Social Work Building
1350 University Avenue
Madison, WI 53706
Room 236
School of Social Work Building
1350 University Avenue
Madison, WI 53706
(608) 263-3283
Website
Useful Literature Databases and E-Journals
All of these databases can be found in the Anthropology/Archaeology list of databases in the Database Library. If you are trying to find the e-journal for a specific journal title, please try Citation Search.
The "Core" list of anthropology databases on the Welcome tab lists the primary anthropology databases, all of which are commonly used for looking up ethnology/cultural anthropology research articles:
There are additional links to region-specific databases in the Regions tab.
These resources listed below may also be helpful for ethnological research:
- ATLA Religion Database with ATLA SerialsIndexes more than 600 of the leading journals in the field of religion.
- Family & Society Studies Worldwide"Provides comprehensive coverage of research, policy, and practice literature in the fields of Family Science, Human Ecology, Human Development, and Social Welfare. It indexes literature from disciplines including anthropology, sociology, psychology..."
- Sociological Abstracts"Indexes and abstracts 2,000 worldwide journals in sociology."
- Women's Studies International"Indexes women's studies, women's issues, and gender-focused books, book chapters, journal and magazine articles, dissertations, and reports from throughout the world, starting in about 1972."
Ethnology Books
Books about anthropology can be located by using a number of different databases.
- Try the UW-Madison catalog to see what our libraries own.
- Try WorldCat to find books and other materials owned in libraries across the U.S. as well as many countries around the world.
Are you looking for book reviews? Try this library guide to Finding Book Reviews in the Humanities and Social Sciences.
Cultural anthropology : a guide to reference and information sources by Call Number: GN42 J33 2007 (Social Work Library)ISBN: 9781591583578Publication Date: 2007
Cultural experience : ethnography in complex society by Call Number: GN346 S67 2005 (Memorial Library)ISBN: 1577663640Publication Date: 2005
Encyclopedia of cultural anthropology by Call Number: GN307 E52 1996 (Memorial Library Reference)ISBN: 0805028773Publication Date: 1996
Encyclopedia of social and cultural anthropology by Call Number: Online Resource [Ebook]ISBN: 041509996XPublication Date: 1998
Essential ethnographic methods : observations, interviews, and questionnaires by Call Number: GN345 S362 1999 (College Library & Memorial Library)ISBN: 0761991441Publication Date: 1999
Ethnographic fieldwork : an anthropological reader by Call Number: GN346 .E675 2012 (College Library)ISBN: 1405125934Publication Date: 2012
Handbook of ethnography by Call Number: GN345 H365 2001 (Memorial Library Reference)ISBN: 076195824XPublication Date: 2001Also available online through Sage Research Methods.
Handbook of Interview Research by Call Number: H61.28 H36 2002 (Memorial Library & Social Work Library), 300.72 H192 (Information School Library)ISBN: 0761919511Publication Date: 2001-07-25Handbook of methods in cultural anthropology by
Call Number: GN345 .H37 2015 (College Library)ISBN: 0759120706Publication Date: 2015Also available online through Proquest eBook Central.
Handbook of qualitative research by Call Number: H62 H2455 2000 (Memorial Library, Social Work Library & Merit Library)ISBN: 0761915125Publication Date: 2000
Professional stranger : an informal introduction to ethnography by Call Number: GN346 A42 1996 (College Library & Memorial Library)ISBN: 0120444704Publication Date: 1996
Reflexive ethnography : a guide to researching selves and others by Call Number: GN345 D37 2008 (Memorial Library)ISBN: 0415409020Publication Date: 2008
The SAGE Handbook of Qualitative Research by Call Number: H62 .H2455 2017 (Business Library)ISBN: 9781483349800Publication Date: 2017-02-15Also available online through Credo eBooks and SAGE Research Methods.
Additional Sources for Linguistic Anthropology Research
Linguistic Anthropology is one of the areas that anthropologists study, and is critical for anthropologists doing ethnology. Below is a condensed list of linguistic anthropology and linguistics resources. If you need assistance with research in a particular language area, you may want to consult the List of Library Subject Specialists by Academic Department.
- Companion to linguistic anthropology / edited by Alessandro DurantiISBN: 0631223525
Call Number: P35 C59 2004 (Memorial Library Reference)
Also available online through Proquest Ebook Central and Wiley Online Library eBooks. - Database Library List: LinguisticsLinguistics relevant databases.
- Encyclopedia of language & linguistics / Keith Brown, editor-in-chiefISBN: 0080442994
Call Number: P29 E48 2006 (Memorial Library Reference) - Ethnologue / Barbara F. Grimes, editor ; consulting editor, Joseph E. Grimes.v. 1. Languages of the world -- v. 2. Maps and indexes.
ISBN: 1556711069
Call Number: P371 E83 2000 (Memorial Library Reference & Online Resource)
Also available online through Ethnologue : languages of the world. - International encyclopedia of linguistics / William J. Frawley, editor-in chief.ISBN: 0195139771
Online Resource - Language and linguistics : the key concepts / R.L. Trask ; edited by Peter StockwellISBN: 9780415413589
Call Number: P29 T687 2007 (Memorial Library Reference) - Language, culture, and society : key topics in linguistic anthropology / [edited by] Christine Jourdan, Kevin TuiteISBN: 0521849411
Call Number: P35 L332 2006 (Memorial Library) - Linguistic anthropology / Alessandro DurantiISBN: 7301053533
Call Number: P35 D87 2002 (Memorial Library) - Linguistic anthropology : a reader / edited by Alessandro DurantiISBN: 9781405126335
Call Number: P35 L48 2009 (Memorial Library) - Linguistic Society of America"The major professional society in the United States that is exclusively dedicated to the advancement of the scientific study of language."
- LLBA (Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts)"Provides abstracts of articles on linguistics and its sub-disciplines from approximately 2,000 serials published around the world, complemented with coverage of recent books, occasional papers, technical reports, and dissertations."
- Society for Linguistic Anthropology"Linguistic Anthropology is the comparative study of the ways in which language shapes social life. On this website, you can find information about the SLA, how to contact them, and about their journal."
- Summer Institute of Linguistics (SIL)"Serves language communities worldwide, building their capacity for sustainable language development, by means of research, translation, training and materials development."
- UW-Madison Language InstituteThe University of Wisconsin-Madison is an international leader in foreign language education and research, offering instruction in many modern and ancient languages.
Ethnology Associations and Useful Web Sites
- American Ethnological Society"The American Ethnological Society is the oldest professional anthropological organization in the United States. Founded in 1842 to encourage research in the emerging field of ethnology, its stated goal was to foster 'inquiries generally connected with the human race.'"
- American Society for Ethnohistory (ASE)"Founded in 1954 to promote the interdisciplinary investigation of the histories of the Native Peoples of the Americas. The ethnohistorical method, as it has come to be known, involves developing histories informed by ethnography, linguistics, archaeology, and ecology."
- AnthroBase"A multilingual, searchable database of articles, theses, essays, reports, conference papers, field-notes etc., written by anthropologists and others with an interest in social and cultural diversity."
- Methods Mall"A one-stop shop for NSF-sponsored training opportunities in research methods for cultural anthropologists."
- OSEA The Open School of Ethnography and Anthropology"The organization aims to provide training to individuals and communities in the ethnography of the future, and to promote the innovative development and application of this ethnography as a means for the improvement of individual and collective life-worlds."