Anthropology : Data/Images/Maps

"This Gallery of vintage motion pictures offers rich perspectives on the American Indian experience. It is presented here free of charge for viewing and downloading for educational purposes."

"The Division of Anthropology is dedicated to the study of human culture and biology. Established in 1873, only four years after the Museum's founding, the Anthropology Division has collected over 500,000 objects representing the peoples of Africa, Europe, Asia, the Pacific Islands and the Americas. Over 200,000 objects have been digitally imaged and can be accessed through this website."

"With collections concerning archaeology, linguistics, cultural anthropology, and physical anthropology, the APS is a rich resource of images depicting both the study of these disciplines and the people who practiced them."

"The Anthropology Collection brings together, in digital form resources that support or are the result of research and teaching materials created by University of Wisconsin faculty and staff."

"Includes more than 3.5 million Associated Press primary-source photographs with original captions for every discipline. Also available are audio files from the 1920s to the present, 2 million Associated Press news stories from 1997 on, and a professionally produced collection of more than 45,000 maps, graphs, charts, logos, flags, illustrations, etc."

Contains over one million images in the areas of western and non-western architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, design, and visual culture. It contains images of many significant archaeological artifacts as well as representative objects of material culture.

"A collaborative effort to create an online archive and analytical database that integrates much of the widely dispersed archaeological data collected from Chaco Canyon from the late 1890s through the first half of the 20th century."

A comprehensive online resource for the visual study of human culture and behavior and the largest, most affordable streaming video collection of its kind, Ethnographic Video Online contains more than 500 hours of classic and contemporary documentaries produced by leading video producers in the discipline; previously unpublished footage from working anthropologists and ethnographers in the field; and select feature films.

"These objects from the anthropology collections at The Field Museum were once in the hands of individual people attempting to solve everyday problems in their environments. Today, at the Museum and in the field, anthropologists and their colleagues restore these objects to life"

"The Photo Archives collection dates back to the World’s Columbian Exposition of 1893. It comprises over 300,000 images in the areas of Anthropology, Botany, Geology, and Zoology."

"The Field Museum has an extensive collection of valuable archaeological materials from the southwestern United States, most often referred to as the "Paul S. Martin Collection." These materials derive from work conducted between 1930 and the early 1970s, when Paul Martin was involved in single-season and multi-season excavations at 69 sites; six major surveys were also undertaken during this period. Research topics addressed by Martin's fieldwork include the origins of the Mogollon culture, early horticultural development in the American Southwest, the nature of human social relationships within and among communities in the prehistoric southwest, the nature of Chacoan outliers, and others."

"HOLLIS Images is the Harvard Library's dedicated image catalog. It includes content from archives, museums, libraries, and other collections throughout Harvard University. Access to the catalog is open to the general public."

A gateway to the Library of Congress’s vast resources of digitized American historical materials.

"Provides access to the Peabody Museum's database for objects, paintings, prints, drawings, and photographs. The Peabody's Online Database offers access to over 300,000 records for which there are images. The site offers users the opportunity to browse preselected groups of commonly requested objects, a simple search function, and an advanced search function. Additional options for researchers are available on request."

"The University of Pennsylvania Museum of Archaeology and Anthropology, through its research, collections, exhibitions, and educational programming, advances understanding of the world's cultural heritage. Founded in 1887, Penn Museum has conducted more than 400 archaeological and anthropological expeditions around the world."

"The Hearst houses the oldest and largest anthropological collection in the Western U.S., preserving and interpreting a global record of material culture as represented by more than 3.8 million catalogued objects."

"This online database provides access to information on over 420,000 archaeology and ethnology catalog records, representing some 2 million individual objects documenting world cultures. The online database includes 97% of the cataloged specimens that are currently in the Ethnology and Archaeology collections. New records are added as specimens are cataloged."

Search over 6.4 million records with 536,000 images, video and sound files, electronic journals and other resources from the Smithsonian's museums, archives & libraries.

"The research conducted by the Department of Anthropology staff covers a wide range of topics and areas of the world. Some of the research topics include human-environmental interactions, population migration, origins of domestication, linguistics, and forensic anthropology."

Anthropological fieldnotes, journals, manuscripts, photographs, moving images, sound recordings, artwork, maps and more than 60,000 digital images are described in the Archival, Manuscript and Photographic Collections catalog.

"Search the Smithsonian Institution Archives’ collections, which contain the official records of the Smithsonian, as well as personal papers, special collections, records of professional societies, and oral/video histories relating to the history of the Smithsonian."

"This tour provides viewers a chance to preview our galleries and includes a number of archival images of highlighted objects from our collections. We hope you can use our tour to assist in planning your future visits or to experience the museum galleries from afar."

"The Museum of Anthropology's image database is the culmination of 5 years work to digitize its immense collection of color 35mm slides that represent over 60 years of archaeological work throughout the United States, Latin America, Asia, and Europe."

"The Museum is the only anthropology museum in Missouri and one of only a few in the Midwest. The archaeological collection comprises artifacts dating from around 9,000 BC to modern times, including the largest holding of prehistoric Missouri artifacts in the world. Among the thousands of objects the Museum curates is a collection of ethnographic materials and objects from many cultures around the world, the largest number being from Africa, Asia, and South America."

Use the search box (upper right) to locate images from the UW-Madison Digital Collections. Significant collections of images are available from Africa, East/Southeast Asia, and North America. The collection also includes images of primates and other zoological specimens.

"Makes available on the Internet, free of charge and in multilingual format, significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world."

"The Yale Peabody Museum’s collections are available to legitimate researchers for scholarly use. Loans are issued to responsible individuals at established institutions. Loans and access to the collection can be arranged through the Collections Manager."

This source includes indepth analyses of countries prepared by the Federal Research Division of the Library of Congress under the Country Studies/Area Handbook Program.

"Provides a single point of access to quality research data from repositories across disciplines and around the world. Through linked content and summary information, this data is displayed within the broader context of the scholarly research, enabling users to gain perspective that is lost when data sets or repositories are viewed in isolation. These connections allow researchers to access an array of data across subjects and regions, providing a comprehensive picture of research output, to maximize research efforts and accurately assess importance."

"A collection of online databases containing more than 1 million time-series records covering international agricultural statistics for 210 countries."

Getfacts is a tool for exploring and downloading Wisconsin demographic data and shapefiles at a range of geographic scales.

Formerly WHOSIS (World Health Organization Statistical Information System) "The GHO is WHO's portal providing access to data and analyses for monitoring the global health situation. It provides critical data and analyses for key health themes, as well as direct access to the full database. The GHO presents data from all WHO programs and provides links to supporting information."

"The Millennial Edition is the definitive source of statistics and data about the United States and is a key resource for American history research from Colonial times to the present."

International labor statistics from the International Labor Organization.

"The International Monetary Fund's (IMF) eLibrary simplifies analysis and research with direct access to the IMF’s periodicals, books, working papers and studies, and data and statistical tools. You will find information and perspective on macroeconomics, globalization, development, trade and aid, technical assistance, demographics, emerging markets, policy advice, poverty reduction, and so much more."

"The International Financial Statistics database covers about 200 countries and areas, with some aggregates calculated for selected regions, plus some world totals. Topics covered include balance of payme commodity prices, exchange rates, fund position, government finance, industrial production, interest rates, international investment position, international liquidity, international transactions, labor statistics, money and banking, national accounts, population, prices, and real effective exchange rates."

"Informs people around the world about population, health, and the environment, and empowers them to use that information to advance the well-being of current and future generations. Data is focused around four "core themes": Reproductive Health and Fertility; Children and Families; Population and the Environment; and Population Futures—Aging, Inequality and Poverty, Migration and Urbanization, and Gender."

"A resource for anthropologists and any other researchers interested in culture, history, language, and human life in general. It represents a wide-ranging list of fieldnotes, ethnographic source materials, and data in countless digital and physical archives, produced by scores of anthropologists over the last century."

"Published since 1878, is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States."

"The United Nations Statistics Division collects, compiles and disseminates official national statistics on births, deaths and life expectancy through the Demographic Yearbook data collection system."

A database available from the US Census Bureau.

"The World Bank Group provides free online access to its comprehensive set of data on living standards around the globe--some 2,000 indicators, including hundreds that go back 50 years."

"Contains overviews of each country in the world, including brief data on geography, people, government, economy, membership in international organizations, communications, and defense forces. Maps and flags may be viewed in various formats."

Focuses on rare 18th and 19th century North and South America cartographic history materials. Historic maps of the World, Europe, Asia and Africa are also represented.

Don't forget Google Maps!

The Arthur H. Robinson Map Library, a unit of the Department of Geography at the University of Wisconsin-Madison, serves a wide range of users from academic and non-academic communities. The library is located in Science Hall. Map Library holdings include ~280,000 maps and ~260,000 historic aerial photos of Wisconsin. The collection contains only about 900 books and other bound volumes — mainly gazetteers, atlases, soil surveys, Wisconsin plat books, and other reference materials. Other physical materials include smaller collections of international aerial photography, nautical and aviation charts, globes, 3-D relief models, and wall maps.