Gender and Women's Studies: Researching Topics : Ethnic Studies
Researching a specific topic in in GWS? Find ideas for resources here!
- Ethnic News Watch - features newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives.
- Chicano Database - the most comprehensive bibliographic resource for information about Mexican-American topics and the only specialized database for Chicano reference.
- HAPI Online (Hispanic American Periodicals Index) - contains worldwide information about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States.
- AfricaBib.org: African Women - this English-language database contained over 35,000 citations from 1986 onward. The database indexes six types of materials: books and government documents; articles appearing in edited books; periodical and journal articles; Masters theses and Ph.D. dissertations as well as a few B.A. theses and honors papers; conference papers; and videocassettes.
- Race Relations Abstracts - includes citations and summaries of journal articles covering essential areas related to race relations, including ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
- American Indian Experience - a portal and full-text online library of more than 150 titles; hundreds of primary documents and images, including treaties, speeches, traditional tales, and captivity narratives with contextual annotation; a wealth of maps and photographs; and hundreds of vetted Web sites.
- Indigenous Peoples: North America - facilitates inquiry into the culture and heritage of indigenous people through access to sources from both American and Canadian institutions, as well as direct-from-source from newspapers from various tribes and Indian-related organizations. The collection also features indigenous-language materials, including dictionaries, bibles, and primers.