Gender and Women's Studies: Researching Topics : Popular Culture and Media
Researching a specific topic in in GWS? Find ideas for resources here!
- Communication and Mass Media Complete - a research and reference resource of unprecedented scope and depth in the communication and mass media fields.
- Harper's Bazaar Archive - When completed this database will cover the entire run of Harper's Bazaar magazine, a fashion, arts, and culture authority from 1867 to the present.
- Vogue Archive - this database of fashion, style, and design includes searchable content of every page of every issue of American Vogue from 1892 forward.
- Women's Magazine Archive - provides searchable access to the complete archives of leading women's interest magazines, dating from the 19th century through to the 21st. The titles and their projected dates of coverage are: Better Homes & Gardens (1922 to 2005), Chatelaine (1928 to 2005), Cosmopolitan (1886 to 2005), Essence (1970 to 2005), Good Housekeeping (1885 to 2005), Ladies’ Home Journal (1883 to 2005), Parents (1926 to 2005), Redbook (1903 to 2005), Seventeen (1970 to 2005), Woman’s Day (1937 to 2005), Women’s International Network News (1975 to 2003).
- Independent Voices - provides searchable full-text access to nearly 1,000 magazines, newsletters, newspapers and other archival material that has previously not been available to the research community.
- Alternative Press Index - includes entries from more than 300 alternative, radical, and left publications. Subjects covered include social and cultural theory, socialism, ecology, democracy, anarchism, feminism, organized labor, indigenous peoples, and gays and lesbians (LGBT), among others.
- Twentieth Century Advice Literature - focuses on gender roles and relations, American consumerism, views of democratic citizenship, character development for children, changes in reaction to each major war (including World Wars I and II, Korea, and Vietnam), class relations, and adjustments to new technology (such as proper manners when using the telephone, point-and-shoot camera, or e-mail).
- Godey's Lady's Book (1830-1898) - Early issues of Godey’s Lady’s Book included fashion description and plates, biographical sketches, sheet music, and articles about topics such as handcrafts, female costume, dance, and health and hygiene. Later, the periodical became an important literary magazine with book reviews, essays, poetry, and short stories by celebrated 19th-century authors.
- Directory of Women's Media - a directory of media owned and operated primarily by, for and about women. Sections list print periodicals, Internet periodicals, publishers, media organizations, and other women's media (news services, radio, film, and video groups, news and media websites, bookstores, listservs, and selected other directories).