Gender and Women's Studies: Researching Topics : History
Researching a specific topic in in GWS? Find ideas for resources here!
- Independent Voices - provides searchable full-text access to nearly 1,000 magazines, newsletters, newspapers and other archival material that has previously not been available to the research community.
- Women's Studies Archive - documents the social, political, and professional aspects of women’s lives, offering resources pertaining to the roles, experiences, and achievements of women in society.
- British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries 1500-1950 - a collection of the diaries and correspondence of over 500 British and Irish women, and encompasses approximately 100,000 pages of writing.
- Defining Gender - contains some 50,000 images of original documents from five centuries of advice literature and related material, from diaries, advice and conduct books, as well as articles from medical and other journals, ballads, cartoons, and pamphlets, all from Europe.
- Discovering American Women's History Online - provides access to hundreds of digital collections of primary sources (photos, letters, diaries, artifacts, etc.) that document the history of women in the United States.
- Everyday Life and Women in America c. 1800-1920 - a digital collection comprising thousands of fully searchable images (alongside transcriptions) of monographs, pamphlets, periodicals and broadsides addressing 19th and early 20th century political, social and gender issues, religion, race, education, employment, marriage, sexuality, home and family life, health, and pastimes.
- Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index - a multilingual scholarly index that covers articles about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages (450 CE to 1500 CE) collected from over 500 journals published from 1990 to the present.
- Gerritsen Collection: Women's History Online - contains the full text of over 4,700 publications from around the world documenting the condition of women, the evolution of feminist consciousness, and women's rights.
- The Lily (1849-1856) - the first newspaper for women, was issued from 1849 until 1853 under the editorship of Amelia Bloomer (1818-1894). It was published in Seneca Falls, New York and priced at 50 cents a year. It began as a temperance journal for “home distribution” among members of the Seneca Falls Ladies Temperance Society, which had formed in 1848.