Gender and Women's Studies: Researching Topics : Arts

Researching a specific topic in in GWS? Find ideas for resources here!

Databases

Art Full Text - provides high-quality indexing and abstracts for peer-reviewed journals and art dissertations and indexing for hundreds of thousands of art reproductions.
ARTstor - provides over 1.5 million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences, along with a suite of software tools for teaching and research.
Digital Library for the Decorative Arts and Material Culture - collects and creates electronic resources for study and research of the decorative arts, with a particular focus on Early America. Included are electronic texts and facsimiles, image databases, and Web resources.
Grand Comics Database - fully searchable and sortable database includes information on creator credits, story details, and other information. It contains non-English language comics and English language comics.
Music Periodicals Database - has more than 1.3 million articles, plus detailed abstracts and full text from 1874 to current, covering the scholarly to the popular. It provides indexing and abstracts for more than 425 international music periodicals, plus full text for around 140 journals.
Performing Arts Periodicals Database - covers a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry, including dance, film, television, drama, theater, stagecraft, musical theater, broadcast arts, circus performance, comedy, storytelling, opera, pantomime, puppetry, magic and more.
International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance - contains all of the content available in International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance as well as full text for 100 titles.

Gender and Women's Studies Librarian

Karla Strand

Contact:

University of Wisconsin System
430 Memorial Library
728 State Street
Madison, WI 53706