Newspapers : United States
Access to the NYTimes.com is available through a campus subscription. Registration is required.
- Registering for the New York Times through UW-MadisonThis tutorial explains how current UW-Madison students, faculty, and staff can register for access and create an account through The New York Times Digital: Academic Pass.
Access to the WSJ.com is available through a campus subscription. Registration is required.
- Registering for the Wall Street Journal through UW-MadisonThis tutorial explains how current UW-Madison students, faculty, and staff can register for access and create a WSJ.com account.
US Newspaper Sites
Free Web sites for major dailies and aggregated newspaper sources.
Newspapers at Other Institutions
Search these sources for newspapers at other institutions. Use Interlibrary Loan to request newspapers held by these institutions. Newspapers likely to be on microfilm.
- WorldCatSearch for newspapers (and other materials) at libraries around the world. Select Title Phrase from the drop down menu to search for a particular newspaper. Also search for newspapers published in or covering a a particular geographic area.
Current US Newspaper Databases
Below is a list of databases for finding current newspaper content. Search these databases by keywords to find specific articles. Generally, content in these databases was published in the past 15-20 years to date. Pictures, advertisements, and special sections are often not included. Click on the i to access a title or source list.
- Alt-Press Watch1970 to date
Full text database of newspapers and periodicals from the alternative and independent press focusing on politics, government, art, the environment, labor, and religion. Title List
- Alternative Press Index1991 to date
Indexes approximately 300 alternative, radical, and left publications that report and analyze the practices and theories of cultural, economic, political, and social change. Click Publications to see all titles included.
- FactivaDates vary.
A source for business and financial news. Provides access to almost 9000 business, trade, and general publications, including same day, full text access to the Wall Street Journal, Barron's, New York Times, Los Angeles Times and Washington Post.
- Newspapers.com Library Edition World CollectionFull-text of local newspapers from the United States, including Wisconsin, dating from the 1700s to the 2000s. Limited additional coverage of local newspapers from other countries.
- Newspaper Source Plus1,520 full-text newspapers, providing more than 28 million full-text articles. The database contains comprehensive full text for major newspapers such as The Boston Globe, The Christian Science Monitor, The Daily Mail (UK), The Irish Times (Ireland), The Sydney Morning Herald (Australia), The Times of London, The Toronto Star, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Washington Times, and others.
- Nexis UniFormerly LexisNexis Academic. Dates vary. International and U.S. newspapers, ethnic and regional news sources, magazines, wire services, newsletters, trade journals, company and industry analyst reports, and broadcast transcripts. Ads, obituaries, graphics typically not included. To access the source directory, click the main "Sources" tab from any page, or click the "More Sources" link from a Search form. The Wisconsin State Journal, 1992–to date; and The Capital Times, 1992–to date.
- US NewsstreamUS Newsstream enables users to search current U.S. news content, as well as archives that stretch back into the 1980s. It features top newspapers, wires, broadcast transcripts, blogs, and news sites in full-text format. US Newsstream provides key national and regional news sources from the U.S. and includes exclusive and preferred access to top titles, including The New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, Newsday, and Chicago Tribune. All titles are cross searchable on the ProQuest platform.
Current Newspapers in Print
Current issues of U.S., Canadian, and international newspapers are available in the Current Periodicals and Newspaper Room, Memorial Library, Room 240 (Where is it?). Issues of U.S. and Canadian newspapers are generally kept for only one week, and issues of international newspapers are generally kept for only 3 months.
Current Periodicals and Newspapers Room staff maintains several paper lists of journals and newspapers to help users of the room locate what they need. Some of those lists are:
- Alphabetical list of journals and newspapers
- Journals and newspapers by country of publication
- Journals and newspapers by primary language
Please note that these lists are only updated once a semester so while they can be helpful, the most up to date information will always be found in the Library Catalog.
Current issues of U.S. and Wisconsin newspapers are also available in the Journalism Reading Room, 2130 Vilas Hall.
Current and historical newspapers are also available at the Wisconsin Historical Society Library.
Historical US Newspapers Online
Digital reproductions of every page and every article from every issue are fully searchable and available in downloadable PDF files. The digitized newspapers include news stories, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, birth and marriage announcements, photos, and advertisements.
Historical US Newspapers Collections Online
- 19th Century U.S. NewspapersProvides access to approximately 1.7 million pages of primary source newspaper content from the 19th century, featuring full-text content and images from more than 200 newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S.
- African American Newspapers (1827–1998)Full text searchable newspaper covergage of approximately 270 U.S newspapers documenting the African American experience in Americafrom the early 19th century to the end of the 20th century.
- African American Newspapers (1827–1902) (Accessible Archives)This original source material—written by African-Americans for African-Americans—contains a wealth of information about cultural life and history during the 1800s and is rich with first-hand reports. It is a searchable full text collection of newspapers with the following titles available: The Christian Recorder; The Colored American/Weekly Advocate; Frederick Douglass’ Paper; Freedom’s Journal; The National Era; The North Star; the Provincial Freeman, Freedman's Record and the Negro Business League Herald.
- America's Historical Newspapers (1690–1922)Series 1-7 offers more than 300 significant 18th-, 19th- and 20th-century newspapers from all 50 present states. Early American Newspapers, Early American Newspapers Series 10, 11, and 12 added in 2016 provide full publication text coverage of selected American newspapers from the 18th, 19th and 20th Centuries.
- Associated Press Collections Online (1848–2009)The Associated Press Online Archive is a collection of news stories, in various stage of production, covering major local, regional, and national stories from 1848 to 2009. This fully-searchable database include news stories, correspondence, internal communications, and photography documenting 19th and 20th century American history. The modules include those from the AP Washington D.C. Bureau, AP U.S. Cities Bureaus, and news features and internal communications.
- Chronicling America: Historic American NewspapersThis site allows you to search and view newspaper pages from 1880–1922 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690–present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress as part of the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP). Dates of coverage will be gradually extended to eventually cover the historic period 1836–1922.
- Ethnic Newspapers from the Balch Collection, 1799–1971This is the third collection in Readex's American Ethnic Newspaper series following the African-American and Hispanic modules. Based on titles from the Balch Institute of Ethnic Studies, it includes more than 130 fully searchable newspapers in ten languages from across the country. This resource assists greatly with the documentation of immigrant ethnic groups, primarily focused on Czechs, French, German, Hungarian, Irish, Italian, Japanese, Jewish, Polish, and Slovak communities.
- Ethnic NewsWatch and Ethnic NewsWatch: A HistoryEthnic NewsWatch provides coverage of newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press for 1990–present. Ethnic NewsWatch: A History provides coverage for 1960–1989.
- Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily ReportsIts original mission was centered on radio and press agency monitoring and translation. But in 1967, FBIS' mission was expanded to include foreign mass media whether it was conveyed by radio, television, or print.
- Gale NewsVaultOnline newspaper portal that cross-searches using a single interface Gale newspapers archives currently licensed for UW-Madison: 17th–18th C. Burney Collection, 19th C. British Library Newspapers Pt. I, 19th C. U.S. Newspapers, Economist Historical Archive, Illustrated London News, Times (of London) Digital Archive, Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive.
- Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808–1980Spanish and English language newspapers from the Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project at the University of Houston. 350 titles dating from the 19th and 20th centuries from throughout the United States.
Wisconsin Historical Society Library Newspapers Collection
The Society Library owns 11,740 bound volumes, 100,000 reels of microfilm, and 17,000 sheets of microprint spanning three centuries of American newspaper history. Particular strengths include Wisconsin newspapers, colonial and early American newspapers west of the Appalachians, and the largest collection of labor and trade union papers in the nation.
The Library's holdings of 1960s "underground" or alternative newspapers are also extensive. Other areas of the collection that have attained national importance are Native American and African-American newspapers. Among rarities in the newspaper collection are the first African-American and Native American newspapers and the first Bohemian, Dutch, Norwegian, and Spanish language newspapers published in the United States.
To discover if the library owns a particular title, search the Library Catalog. Also see Library Catalog box on this page.
More information about the Newspaper Collection at the Wisconsin Historical Society Library.
On this Page
This page provides links to licensed databases with full text of US newspapers.
Also on this page on links to major US dailies and aggregated news sources.
In addition, there are links to historical US newspapers and newspaper collections.
Also included is information about places for US newspapers: Current Periodicals and Newspaper Room, Journalism Reading Room, and the Wisconsin Historical Society Library.
To search for newspaper titles in the libraries' collections, use Find It or the Library Catalog box on this page.
Current Periodicals & Newspaper Room
The Current Periodicals and Newspaper Room is Room 240 of Memorial Library (Where is it?).
Current issues of U.S. and Canadian newspapers and international newspapers are available there. Issues of U.S. and Canadian newspapers are generally kept for only one week, and issues of international newspapers are generally kept for only 3 months.
Staff are available to provide assistance during Memorial Library hours.