Newspapers : Local/Madison
Find It
Locate a newspaper title or article when you have a citation using Citation Search.
Library Catalog
Local Newspaper Sites
UW Newspaper Sites
Wisconsin State Journal Local News
Ask a Librarian
Databases for Local/Madison and UW-Madison Newspapers
- Archive of Wisconsin NewspapersA collection of more than 200 daily and weekly Wisconsin newspapers. Newspapers are searchable and are included cover to cover in PDF format, starting in 2005 to the present, with an embargo delay of 60 days. Titles include the Wisconsin State Journal, Capital Times, Badger Herald, Daily Cardinal, Isthmus, and Madison Times, among others. The Milwaukee Journal Sentinel is not included. A service of the Wisconsin Newspaper Association.
- Alt-Press Watch1970 to date
Full text database of newspapers and periodicals from the alternative and independent press focusing on politics, government, art, the environment, labor, and religion. Includes The Isthmus from 2005. Title list - FactivaDates vary.
A source for business and financial news. Provides access to almost 9000 business, trade, and general publications, including same day, full text access to the Wall Street Journal, Barron's, New York Times, Los Angeles Times and Washington Post. - Newspaper Source Plus1,520 full-text newspapers. Provides more than 28 million full-text articles. Includes the Wisconsin State Journal, 1997-.
- NewspaperARCHIVE.com - WisconsinWisconsin historical newspapers archive from the 1800s–2000s containing thousands of well-known regional, state, and small local newspapers from around Wisconsin. (Updates vary)
- Nexis UniFormerly LexisNexis Academic. Capital Times, Wisconsin State Journal 1/1992–current. Badger Herald and Daily Cardinal included in University Wire for 1997–.
Current Newspapers in Print
Current issues of U.S., Canadian, and international newspapers are available in the Current Periodicals and Newspaper Room, Memorial Library, Room 240 (Where is it?). Issues of U.S. and Canadian newspapers are generally kept for only one week, and issues of international newspapers are generally kept for only 3 months.
Current Periodicals and Newspapers Room staff maintains several paper lists of journals and newspapers to help users of the room locate what they need. Some of those lists are:
- Alphabetical list of journals and newspapers
- Journals and newspapers by country of publication
- Journals and newspapers by primary language
Please note that these lists are only updated once a semester so while they can be helpful, the most up to date information will always be found in the Library Catalog.
Current issues of U.S. and Wisconsin newspapers are also available in the Journalism Reading Room, 2130 Vilas Hall.
Current and historical newspapers are also available at the Wisconsin Historical Society Library.
Back Issues of Local/Madison Newspapers
Wisconsin Historical Society Library has complete holdings of the Capital Times, Wisconsin State Journal, and the Isthmus.
University Archives and the Mircroforms/Media Collection (MMC) have complete holdings of the Badger Herald and the Daily Cardinal.
To find location, search the Library Catalog.
On this Page
This page provides links to licensed newspaper databases that include current and back issues of local and Madison newspapers.
Also here are links to the Web sites for current and sometimes back issues.
There is also a Local Newspapers Search from Madison Public Library for finding newspaper article citations.
In addition, the page features current local news feeds from the Wisconsin State Journal.
To search for newspaper titles in the libraries' collections, use Find It or the Library Catalog box on this page.
Current Periodicals & Newspaper Room
The Current Periodicals and Newspaper Room is Room 240 of Memorial Library (Where is it?).
Current issues of U.S. and Canadian newspapers and international newspapers are available there. Issues of U.S. and Canadian newspapers are generally kept for only one week, and issues of international newspapers are generally kept for only 3 months.
Staff are available to provide assistance during Memorial Library hours.