Newspapers : Other Sources
Sources of current and historical newspapers available in print, electronically, and on microform through the UW-Madison Libraries and beyond.
Newspapers at Other Institutions
Search these sources for newspapers at other institutions. Use Interlibrary Loan to request newspapers held by these institutions. Newspapers are likely to be on microfilm.
- WorldCatSearch for newspapers (and other materials) at libraries around the world. Select Title Phrase from the drop down menu to search for a particular newspaper. Also search for newspapers published in or covering a a particular geographic area.
Bibliographies and union lists, describing the holdings of one or more libraries, in the Reference Collection at Memorial Library include:
- African-American Newspapers and Periodicals: a National Bibliography by James P. Danky, editor ; Maureen E. Hady, associate editor.Call Number: PN4882.5 A47 1998, Memorial Library Reference Stacks, 2 South (non-circulating)
- Ethnic Newspapers: Guide to the Holdings of the State Historical Society of Wisconsin Library (1975). by Compiled by Susan Bryl.Call Number: Z6945 E75, Memorial Library Stacks Regular Size Shelving
- Newspapers in Microform. United States, 1948-1983.Call Number: Z6941 U6, Memorial Lib. Reference Dictionary Stand Rm 262 (non-circ.)
- Newspapers in Microform. Foreign Countries, 1948-1983.Call Number: Z6941 U605, Memorial Lib. Reference Dictionary Stand Rm 262 (non-circ.)
- United States Newspaper Program National Union List Microfiche.Call Number: Micro Fiche 4784, Memorial Lib. Reference Dictionary Stand Rm 262 (non-circ.)
- World list of National Newspapers: a Union List of National Newspapers in Libraries in the British Isles.Call Number: PN4801 W37, Memorial Library Reference Stacks, 2 South (non-circulating)
- Editor & Publisher International Year Book. 1959–Call Number: PN4700 E42, Memorial Library Stacks Regular Size Shelving, Latest edition at Reference Desk, Rm. 262
Directories of newspapers available from Memorial Library include:
- Gale Directory of Publications and Broadcast Media. 1990–Call Number: PN4841 A1 G26, Memorial Lib. Ref. Non-current, Basement North (non-circ.), Latest edition at Refer
Some of the newspaper indexes available in campus libraries:
- Black newspapers index. 1987–Call Number: AI3 I365, Historical Society Library Reading Room (non-circulating)
- Chicago Tribune. Newspaper Index.Call Number: AI21 C45 C47, Historical Society Library Stacks
- Index to Black Newspapers. 1977–1986.Call Number: AI3 I365, Historical Society Library Reading Room (non-circulating)
- Los Angeles Times. Newspaper Index.Call Number: AI21 L65 N49, Historical Society Library Stacks
- New York Times Index, 1913–Call Number: AI21 N44, Memorial Library Reference Center Cases Rm 262 (non-circ.)
- Wall Street Journal. Newspaper Index. 1955–1992.Call Number: AI21 W26, Historical Society Library Stacks
- Washington Post. Newspaper Index, 1971–Call Number: AI21 W33 W36, Historical Society Library Stacks
On this Page
This page describes and points to other sources for newspapers: catalogs, bibliographies and union lists, directories, and indexes.