Skip to main content

We are here to help

Contact Us

Second Wave Feminism : Primary Resources

Researching the Women's Liberation Movement

Library Catalog

Google Scholar

Google Scholar Search

Primary Resources

primary resource is an artifact, manuscript, document, recording or other original resource.

Jewish Women's Archive
In the second half of the 20th century, feminism transformed both American life and the Jewish community. And so, with urgency—as the historical actors of this movement age, clean out their attics, or even pass away—the Jewish Women's Archive (JWA) set out to preserve the story of Jewish women and the feminist revolution.

Lesbian Herstory Archives
The Lesbian Herstory Archives exists to gather and preserve records of Lesbian lives and activities so that future generations will have ready access to materials relevant to their lives.

Schlesinger Archive
Researchers travel from around the world to use the manuscript collections of Julia Child, the Boston Women's Health Book CollectiveMaud Wood Park, and Betty Friedan or to examine comics like Ms. Marvel and periodicals like Bust.

Smith College Special Collections
As a steward of historical materials of enduring value, Smith College Special Collections fosters inquiry, critical thinking, and knowledge building through an active engagement with the past and a focus on the future.

Women and Leadership Archives
Established in 1994, the Women and Leadership Archives (WLA) collects, preserves, and makes available permanently valuable records of women and women’s organizations, which document women’s lives, roles, and contributions.

Women's History and Resource Center Archive
The WHRC online catalog currently provides access to a growing body of information and images related to GFWC’s history, including archival material, photographs, publications, art, and artifacts. Tips for searching are available by clicking the Help button on the search screen. To avoid too many hits, leave out GFWC when searching for names of clubs and state federations. Watch for catalog updates as new material is added.