Skip to main content

Second Wave Feminism: Researching the Modern Women's Movement : Magazines and Newspapers

Researching the Modern Women's Movement

Library Catalog

Google Scholar

Google Books

Google Books and More

Google has digitized many magazines in addition to books.

Use the Advanced Google Books Search and limit the date range (ex: 1967-1979).

Results will include full views of some books and magazine articles, partial previews, or snippets. Among the magazines with full view:

Magazines and Newspapers in UW Libraries

Campus libraries have scores of women's liberation periodicals, some in print, some on microfilm. They were published in many cities throughout the United States, including Madison.

Ain't I a Woman? (1970-74), from Iowa City

The Amazon (1972-1985), from Milwaukee

Amazon Quarterly: a Lesbian Feminist Arts Journal (1973-74)

Big Mama Rag (1972-1984)

Black Maria (1972-84), from River Forest, Ill.

Bread & Roses (1977-1984), from Madison, WI

Common Woman and Common Woman is the Revolution (1971), from Berkeley

Country Women (1973-74), from San Francisco

CWLU News: Newsletter of the Chicago Women's Liberation Union (1970)

Dandelion (1972-80), from Philadelphia

Distaff (1973-75), from New Orleans

Echo of Sappho (1972-1973), from Brooklyn

Encuentro Femenil: the First Chicana Feminist Journal (1973), from San Fernando, CA

Feminist Art Journal (1972 -77)

Feminist Times (1972) from New York

The Feminist Voice (1971-72), from Chicago

The Furies: Lesbian Feminist Monthly (1972-73), from Washington, DC

Gold Flower (1971-79), from Minneapolis

Her-self (1972-77), from Ann Arbor

It Ain't Me Babe (1970-71), from Berkeley

A Journal of Female Liberation (1968-71), from Cambridge, MA

Lesbian Tide (1972-1980), from Altadena, CA, it is also in LGBT Life with Fulltext

Lilith (1968-70), from Seattle

Majority Report (1971-77), from New York

Marin Women's News Journal (1973-75), from San Rafael, CA  

Ms (1972- ), from New York

Moving Out (1972-73), from Detroit

New Directions for Women in New Jersey (1972-75) 

New York Radical Feminists Newsletter (1972-76)

Newsreport (Women Against Pornography) (1979-87), from New York

Notes from the second year : women’s liberation (1971), from New York 

No More Fun and Games; from Somerville, Massachusetts

Off our backs (1970-), from Washington, DC

Off the Pedestal: Bay Area Women’s Liberation newsletter (1969), from Berkeley

The OptiMSt (1975-), from Yukon, Canada

Pandora (1970-79), from Seattle

Quest: a feminist quarterly (1974-1982), from Washington, DC

Scarlet Letter (1971-72), Madison, WI

Second Wave (1977-80), Boston

Sister: the Monthly Newsletter of New Haven Women's Liberation (1974-79)

Sister: West Coast Feminist Newspaper (1973-75), from Venice, CA

Sojourner (1975), from Mass 

Spokeswoman (1971-81), from Chicago and elsewhere

Tell_a_woman (1972-73), from Philadelphia

Triple Jeopardy (1972), from the Third World Women’s Alliance, from Berkeley  

Voice of  the Women's Liberation (1968-69), from Chicago

What She Wants (1973-84), from Cleveland

Whole Woman (1972-74), from Madison, WI

WomaNews (1975-1978), from Gainesville, FL

Women in Libraries (1975-  ), from New York and elsewhere. 

Women’s Action Movement Newsletter, early 1970s, from Madison, WI

Women's Press (1970- 87), from Eugene, OR

For a contrasting view, try the Vogue Archive (all issues of Vogue, actually going back to 1892.)

The TIME website is searchable going back to March, 1923.

Newspaper Databases and Archives

Ethnic Newswatch (1960-present for some of the newspapers, not up to the present for others) -- Articles published in American ethnic newspapers from Asian American, African American, Hispanic/Latino, Native American, and Jewish American communities.

The Chicago Defender for the Proquest Historical Black Newspapers

NewspaperArchive.com (Selected articles from American newspapers, large and small, some going back to the 1700s)

Lexis-Nexis Academic (Newspapers from the U.S. and elsewhere, many going back to 1980)

Newspaper Clippings (subject files)

Several places microfilmed their "vertical files" -- subject-arranged files of clippings from newspapers and magazines, along with pamphlets and other miscellaneous information. They are a great source of what the organizations and libraries thought was important to save. These sets are all in the Memorial Library Microforms Media Center, Room 443. Some tips:

  • Be sure to use the terms in use at the time.
  • Request by Micro Number.
  • Use the Guides or Indexes to each collection.

Schlesinger Library Vertical File for Women's Studies   (1950-1990) is a massive microform set of clippings and other material collected by the Schlesinger Library on the History of Women in America,  Radcliffe College. Micro Fiche 5357.  The set has three parts: Biographies, Organizations, and Subjects.

  • All are listed in the collection's Guide.

Atlanta Lesbian Feminist Alliance archives, ca. 1972-1994 contains subject files (clippings, etc.) as well as magazines and newsletters and organizational files related to the ALFA itself as well as for several other organizations, including the Atlanta Socialist-Feminist Union, Orchid Productions/Lucinda Music, Womonwrites conference, and Radio Free Georgia women's programming. - Micro Film 11226. 

Lesbian Herstory Archives subject files  contains 150 microfilm reels on all aspects of lesbian life and concerns, from abortion to African-American lesbians, lesbian mothers, gay civil rights, women’s liberation movement, domestic partnership, older lesbians, and Native American lesbians, etc.

  • Guide to the collection

Women in Health is a  set from the Women’s History Research Center, Berkeley. It consists of clippings from newspapers, professional journals, alternative newspapers, academic research papers, theses, and conference speeches covering the years 1965-1974, documenting the women's health movement. Micro Film 11048.

  • The Guide is in the MicroMedia Center.
  • This set is also in the Ebling Library, M 95.

Herstory: Women's History Collection (1956-1974) Hundreds of women's liberation newsletters, journals, and newspapers and related publications. Historical Society Library Microforms Room. Micro film P73-2601 P73-2623 23p, There are two parts to the Guide:

  • PAM 74-874
  • PAM 76-2577.

Gender and Women's Studies Librarian

Karla Strand's picture
Karla Strand
Contact:
University of Wisconsin System
430 Memorial Library
728 State Street
Madison, WI 53706
karla.strand@wisc.edu
608-263-5754
Website

Indexes to Older Periodicals

There are several indexes that are helpful when researching topics written about in magazines:

 Alternative Press Index -- indexes radical / grassroots periodicals, including women's liberation/feminist periodicals

  • Physical Locations: Memorial Library Reference Wall Cases Rm 262 A13 A27 and Historical Library Reading Room A13 A27.

Readers Guide to Periodical Literature, Retrospective Edition -- indexes news magazines, traditional women's magazines, other general interest / popular magazines and one feminist magazine (Ms., from v. 2 1974- 1982). Database goes through 1983.

Women Studies Abstracts -- indexes academic journal articles and some magazines on women. Indexes for 1972-1983 are only available in print.

  • Physical Locations: Memorial Library Reference Wall Cases Rm 262 Z7962 W65 and Historical Library Stacks Z7692 W65.

Feminist Periodicals: A Current Listing of Contents  (1981- present) published by the University of Wisconsin System Women's Studies Librarian.

Other Guides

If you are looking for a recent publication written about the Second Wave try the following guide by the Memorial Reference Department. 

Newspapers