University of Wisconsin Past and Present: An Undergraduate Research : Home

This guide organizes resources to assist users in locating information on the University of Wisconsin-Madison. The guide aims to aid users looking for both historical and current information. Clicking on the tabs on the left sidebar will direct users to variety of content. The resources provide guidance on locating information in library databases, university reports, newspapers, and online collections.

• The Buildings and Landscape page offers resources for locating information on campus building histories. The section connects users with tools to locate information on architecture, building materials, and historical uses of buildings. Additionally, users will find resources that document the cultural landscape on campus.
• In the Facts and Data section, sources of historic and current data are listed. This includes resources with enrollment data, diversity reports, conferred degree reports, and demographic information of the student body.
• The Newspapers section directs users to sources of Madison and UW newspapers. The page offers information on the publications, full-text availability, and date ranges that can be found in several library databases. Information is also provided for locating current news available in print and online sources. Additionally, users will find information for locating back issues of Madison and UW newspapers available in a variety of formats.
• The Online Collections page organizes resources on campus history. Users will find links to exhibits available through UW Digital Collections, UW Archives, and the Oral History Project. Historical information can be found in text, audio, and video.

Need help?

or click for more options ...