University of Wisconsin Past and Present: An Undergraduate Research : Newspapers

Daily Cardinal, September 13, 1894, image from UW Digital Collections (UW Collection)

Current Madison and UW Newspapers

Archive of Wisconsin Newspapers
This databases consists of over 200 Wisconsin newspapers available in searchable PDFs. Newspapers are available following a 90 day embargo period and display digital scans from cover to cover. Titles include the Daily Cardinal, Badger Herald, Capital Times, and Wisconsin State Journal.
Newspaper Source Plus
This database provides access to more than 1,500 full-text newspapers. Wisconsin State Journal articles are available in full-text beginning in 1997.
Nexis Uni
The Wisconsin State Journal and Capital Times are available in full-text articles beginning in 1992. The Badger Herald and Daily Cardinal are available beginning in 1997.
Factiva
Capital Times and Wisconsin State Journal are available with limited coverage beginning in 1992 and more complete holdings from 2000-present. Articles are available in searchable full-text.

Wisconsin State Historical Society
Complete back issues of Capital Times and Wisconsin State Journal are available at the Wisconsin Historical Society on microfilm.
Library Catalog
Information on the availability and format of back issues can be found by searching the catalog. The catalog provides information on the location, format, and availability of newspapers.

Current Periodicals and Newspaper Room, Memorial Library, Room 240

Current editions of Wisconsin newspapers include the Badger Herald, Wisconsin State Journal, Cap Times, Milwaukee Journal Sentinel, Daily Cardinal, On Wisconsin, and Isthmus. Titles are generally retained for one year.

Journalism Reading Room, 2130 Vilas Hall

Current editions of Wisconsin newspapers can be found in the Journalism Reading Room. Available titles include the Badger Herald, Daily Cardinal, Milwaukee Journal Sentinel, and Wisconsin State Journal. Back issues are kept for 1-2 months