University of Wisconsin Past and Present: An Undergraduate Research : Buildings and Landscape

This book by Jim Feldman is available in its entirety through UW Digital Collections. The free resource provides detailed building histories of current and historical structures on campus.

This webpage describes the history of Science Hall in addition to architecture and building materials.

The history and architecture of the Red Gym are detailed in this article. Clicking the links on the page leads users through three distinct historical periods that include the Golden Age (1894-1929), Decline (1930-1988), and Gateway to the 21st Century (1989-present).

This article describes the building history of Memorial Union in addition to the history of services and programming. Clicking the links in left sidebar provides more detailed information on the terrace and a timeline of events.

This webpage provides a chronology of University Housing. Clicking on the links will take users to webpages for housing facilities with more detailed descriptions. The resource also provides a link to photo slideshow of 100 years of life in campus housing.

This article offers a look at some of the historic campus buildings that are no longer standing.

This webpage offers a photo slideshow of the 1916 fire at the formerly named Main Hall. Accompanying text provides context for the images.

This article provides a brief history of Bascom Hall, the site selection, and the heritage marker acknowledging the site as ancestral Ho-Chunk land.

This property record details the history and architecture of the Wisconsin Historical Society.

The article provides a brief list and description of several campus landmarks.

The Wisconsin Historical Society provides access to property records for campus buildings. The records contain information on architectural styles, building materials, dates of construction and remodeling, and building histories.

This resource provides history through site plans, maps, and images. Clicking on the link "Browse Textual Materials" will direct users to historic accounts of the cultural landscape on campus.

This page offers information on the cultural and historical significance of various campus landscapes. Users will find the Cultural Landscape Inventory by scrolling down to the second section. This section connects users to detailed reports on Native American archaelogical sites, landscape design, and construction.