On this Page
This page provides links to licensed databases for content from international newspapers.
Also provided are links to sites with listings of Web sites for current international newspapers.
For information about international newspaper titles available in print and on microfilm, search MadCat.
This page also includes information about finding international newspapers at other institutions.
MadCat Quicksearch
Search MadCat for a newspaper title (exact title search):
International News Sites
Newspapers on Microfilm
Memorial Library has some international newspapers on microfilm. Microfilm is located in the Microforms Media Center, Room 443.
Newspapers at Other Institutions
Search these sources for newspapers at other institutions. Use Library Express to request newspapers held by these institutions.
- WorldCat Search for newspapers (and other materials) at libraries around the world. Select Title Phrase from the drop down menu to search for a particular newspaper. Also search for newspapers published in or covering a a particular geographic area.
- Center for Research Libraries
Current International Newspaper Databases
Below is a list of databases for finding current international newspaper content. Search these databases by keywords to find specific articles. Generally, content in these databases was published in the past 15-20 years to date. Pictures, advertisements, and special sections are often not included. Click on the i to access a title or source list.
- Factiva A source for business and financial news. Provides access to almost 9000 business, trade, and general publications, including same day, full text access to the Wall Street Journal, Barron's, New York Times, Los Angeles Times and Washington Post.
- Global NewsBank
1996 to date
Useful for researching a wide variety of international developments related to politics, economics, science & technology, and business. Full-text news articles are from more than 1,500 international sources. - Informe!
1990s to present
Updated daily
Includes content of newspapers (Argentina, Chile, Mexico, Uruguay and Venezuela) from which around 20 to 80 stories/day are provided. Of great utility for users is the fact that the PDFs are also accessible in HTML. - LexisNexis Academic
Dates vary.
International and U.S. newspapers, ethnic and regional news sources, magazines, wire services, newsletters, trade journals, company and industry analyst reports, and broadcast transcripts. Ads, obituaries, graphics typically not included. - Library PressDisplay
Updated daily. 60-day backfile.
Online access to today's newspapers from around the world in full-color, full-page format. Currently includes 340+ titles from over 60 countries in over 35 languages. 60-day backfile; keyword search across all titles. - Newspaper Source Plus 1,520 full-text newspapers. Provides more than 28 million full-text articles. Contains comprehensive full text for major newspapers such as The New York Times (from January 1985 to present), The Boston Globe, The Christian Science Monitor, The Daily Mail (UK), The Irish Times (Ireland), The San Francisco Chronicle, The Sydney Morning Herald (Australia), The Times of London, The Toronto Star, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Washington Times, and others.
Newspapers in Print
Current issues of U.S., Canadian newspapers, and international newspapers are available in the Current Periodicals and Newspaper Room, Memorial Library, Room 240 (Where is it?). Issues of U.S. and Canadian newspapers are generally kept for only one week, and issues of international newspapers are generally kept for only 3 months.
Current Periodicals and Newspapers Room staff maintains several paper lists of journals and newspapers to help users of the room locate what they need. Some of those lists are:
- Alphabetical list of journals and newspapers
- Journals and newspapers by country of publication
- Journals and newspapers by primary language
Please note that these lists are only updated once a semester so while they can be helpful, the most up to date information will always be found in MadCat.
Historical International Newspapers Collections Online
- 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers Newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817) represent the largest and most comprehensive collection of early English news media. Almost 1 million pages, approximately 1,270 titles.
- 19th Century British Library Newspapers Searchable archive of 50 newspapers originating in England, Scotland and Ireland selected by an editorial board from the British Library.. Most comprehensive digital collection of national and regional newspapers in Victorian Britain ever made available.
- ANNO: Austrian Newspapers Online
- Early Hebrew Newspapers Project From the the Jewish National and University Library, David and Fela Shapell Family Digitization Project, the site provides open access to images of the major titles of the early Hebrew press (19th and early 20th century).
- Eighteenth Century Journals: A Portal to Newspapers and Periodicals, c1685-1815 Selected digitized English-language scholarly journals and newspapers from the years 1699-1812 including 76 journals at Oxford U.'s Bodleian Library and 70 journals and newspapers at the U. of Texas, Austin's Harry Ransom Humanities Research Center.
- Irish Newspaper Archives Irish newspapers from 1763 to the present, in a fully-searchable format that includes images of the actual newspaper.
- NewspaperARCHIVE.com Fully searchable newspaper pages from more than 400 cities and towns. Years of coverage vary, but some newspapers go back as far as the 1700s and include titles from the U.S., Canada, and the United Kingdom. Pages are reproduced in PDF format.
Ask a Librarian
Current Periodicals & Newspaper Room
The Current Periodicals and Newspaper Room is Room 240 of Memorial Library (Where is it?).
Current issues of U.S. and Canadian newspapers and international newspapers are available there. Issues of U.S. and Canadian newspapers are generally kept for only one week, and issues of international newspapers are generally kept for only 3 months.
Staff are available to provide assistance during Memorial Library hours.
Description
Loading content... please wait


Loading content... please wait