On this Page
This page provides links to licensed databases for historical editions of U.S. and international newspapers. The databases include single titles and collections.
Also included is information about newspapers on microfilm and the collections of the Wisconsin Historical Society Library.
To search for newspaper titles in the libraries' collections, use the MadCat Quick Search on this page.
MadCat Quick Search
Search MadCat for a newspaper title (exact title search):
Newspapers on Microfilm
Memorial Library has back issues of the New York Times, 1966-1992, and some international newspapers on microfilm. Microfilm is located in the Microforms Media Center, Room 443.
The Wisconsin Historical Society Library has the complete holdings of the New York Times on microfilm as well as other US newspapers on microfilm.
Historical Newspapers Online
For the newspapers available through ProQuest Historical Newspapers collections listed below, digital reproductions of every page and every article from every issue are fully searchable and available in downloadable PDF files. The digitized newspapers include news stories, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, birth and marriage announcements, photos, and advertisements.
- Atlanta Daily World,1931-2003 (ProQuest Historical Black Newspapers)
- Chicago Defender, 1905-1975 (ProQuest Historical Black Newspapers)
- Chicago Tribune, 1849-1985 (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
- Los Angeles Sentinel, 1934-2005 (ProQuest Historical Black Newspapers)
- Los Angeles Times, 1881-1985 (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
- New York Amsterdam News, 1905-1975 (ProQuest Historical Black Newspapers)
- New York Times, 1851-2005 (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
- Pittsburgh Courier 1911-2002 (ProQuest Historical Black Newspapers)
- Palmer's Full Text Online Provides an index to the London Times. Indexing exists for October 1790 to December 1905, the full-text component spans only the years from 1800 to 1870.
- Times (London) Digital Archive, The, 1785-1985 Page facsimiles of all the issues of the London Times. Search by keyword and date and limit search to sections such as: Advertising, Pictures, People, News, Editorials. Sundays are not included.
Historical Newspapers Collections Online
- 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers Newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817) represent the largest and most comprehensive collection of early English news media. Almost 1 million pages, approximately 1,270 titles.
- 19th Century British Library Newspapers Searchable archive of 50 newspapers originating in England, Scotland and Ireland selected by an editorial board from the British Library.. Most comprehensive digital collection of national and regional newspapers in Victorian Britain ever made available.
- 19th Century U.S. Newspapers Provides access to approximately 1.7 million pages of primary source newspaper content from the 19th century, featuring full-text content and images from more than 200 newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S.
- America's Historical Newspapers (1690-1922) Series 1-5 offers more than 140 significant 18th-, 19th- and 20th-century newspapers from all 50 present states.
- ANNO: Austrian Newspapers Online
- Early Hebrew Newspapers Project From the the Jewish National and University Library, David and Fela Shapell Family Digitization Project, the site provides open access to images of the major titles of the early Hebrew press (19th and early 20th century).
- Eighteenth Century Journals: A Portal to Newspapers and Periodicals, c1685-1815 Selected digitized English-language scholarly journals and newspapers from the years 1699-1812 including 76 journals at Oxford U.'s Bodleian Library and 70 journals and newspapers at the U. of Texas, Austin's Harry Ransom Humanities Research Center.
- Ethnic News Watch: A History Provides coverage of newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press for 1960-1989.
- Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980 Spanish and English language newspapers from the Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project at the University of Houston. 350 titles dating from the 19th and 20th centuries from throughout the United States.
- Irish Newspaper Archives Irish newspapers from 1763 to the present, in a fully-searchable format that includes images of the actual newspaper.
- NewspaperARCHIVE.com Fully searchable newspaper pages from more than 400 cities and towns. Years of coverage vary, but some newspapers go back as far as the 1700s and include titles from the U.S., Canada, and the United Kingdom. Pages are reproduced in PDF format.
- Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers This site allows you to search and view newspaper pages from 1880-1922 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress as part of the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP). Dates of coverage will be gradually extended to eventually cover the historic period 1836-1922.
Wisconsin Historical Society Library Newspapers Collections
The Society Library owns 11,740 bound volumes, 100,000 reels of microfilm, and 17,000 sheets of microprint spanning three centuries of American newspaper history. Particular strengths include Wisconsin newspapers, colonial and early American newspapers west of the Appalachians, and the largest collection of labor and trade union papers in the nation.
The Library's holdings of 1960s "underground" or alternative newspapers are also extensive. Other areas of the collection that have attained national importance are Native American and African-American newspapers. Among rarities in the newspaper collection are the first African-American and Native American newspapers and the first Bohemian, Dutch, Norwegian, and Spanish language newspapers published in the United States.
To discover if the library owns a particular title, search MadCat. Also see MadCat Quick Search on this page.
More information about the Newspaper Collection at the Wisconsin Historical Society Library.
Ask a Librarian
Description
Loading content... please wait


Loading content... please wait