Product Design : Articles & Videos

Types of Articles

Using article databases, you can limit your search to specific types of articles such as:

Trade Journal - Current trends in a specific technical or trade area.

Conference Paper - Papers presented at a conference.

Scholarly Journal Articles - Research findings, methods, and references published after being peer reviewed by experts in the field.

Review Articles - Summary of previously published articles on the topic.

Engineering Core Databases

Applied Science & Technology Full Text
English-language database providing access to scientific and technical publications in a wide variety of STEM disciplines including artificial intelligence, applied math, plastics, robotics, etc.).
Google Scholar
Scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research from a wide variety of sources.

Google Scholar is proxied for off-campus use so that the FindIt button appears in results.|| If you go to 'My Library' and sign in, the proxying will no longer be present and off-campus the FindIt button will not appear.|| Off-campus go to Settings/Library Links and search for 'Madison' and select it to see FindIt links.
INSPEC (via Web of Science)
Scientific and technical literature database related to fields such as physics, engineering, computer science, environmental science, geophysics, biomedical technology and biophysics.
PubMed/Medline
Covers the biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Also provides access to NCBI databases covering molecular biology. From the NIH's National Library of Medicine.
ScienceDirect
Information platform of scientific, technical, and medical research content from journals, books, series, and reference works published by Elsevier.
Scopus
Large, multidisciplinary database that covers science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Includes tools to track, analyze, and visualize research.
Springer Nature Link
Scientific documents from journals, books, series, protocols, reference works and proceedings published by Springer Nature.
Web of Science
Collection of databases indexing scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, from journals, conference proceedings, symposia, and more. Includes citation network data.
Wiley Online Library
Browse or search thousands of ebooks and millions of articles from the life, physical, health, and social sciences, as well as the humanities disciplines.

Article Search Tutorials

Engineering Society Publications

Staying Current with the Literature

Get journal Table of Contents (TOC) alerts using JournalTOCs, the largest, free collection of scholarly journal Tables of Contents (TOCs).

Databases also provide the ability to save searches and create alerts. Here are videos on how to setup up search alerts:

Engineering Videos

JoVE: Journal of Visualized Experiments
Environmental Studies in Video
Kanopy (Films)

All films on Kanopy may be used for classroom screenings. Only films with a “PPR” designation in Kanopy may be used for public performances (screenings) as long as they take place on-campus and no entrance fee is charged.