Market Research : Library Databases and Internet Resources

In-depth reports from 2001-present that analyze market size and segmentation, consumer attitudes, and marketing strategies relative to hundreds of consumer products in the United States. Lifestyle reports such as "Green Marketing" and "Spending Habits of the Teen Consumer" are also available. (New reports issued monthly)
Access: All access requires a UW-Madison NetID to log in. You must be a current UW-Madison faculty member, student, or staff to use this database either on or off-campus.

Formerly known as ReferenceUSA, Data Axle Reference Solutions contains directory information on U.S. and Canadian business, health care, and residential listings. Search by company name, geographic area, business type, SIC code, yellow page listing, revenue, location, number of employees or any combination of the above. In addition to address and phone number, each entry includes officer names and titles, corporate affiliation, business type and size of yellow page advertising. Toll free and fax numbers are given for some companies.
Access: Available to anyone on-campus. Available off campus for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff only.

Daily research articles, analyst reports, and a database of e-business and online marketing statistics that provide insights and trends related to digital advertising, marketing, media, and commerce.
Access: Available to anyone on-campus. Available off campus for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff only.

U.S. consumer data including demographics, psychographics, product usage, spending behavior and media habits from annual Simmons National Consumer Study of U.S. adults age 18 and older.
Access: Available to anyone on-campus. Available off campus for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff only. This database is licensed for 50 simultaneous users. If 50 people are already using the database, you will get a message saying that the maximum number of users has been reached.

Searchable collection of market and consumer data from wide range of sources: government, NGOs, industry, marketing and trade groups. Statista includes ready-made statistical charts, graphs and tables on marketing, demographics, communication, technology, politics, health, leisure and public opinion polls. About 20 percent of the data in Statista comes from government sources like the World Bank and the U.S. Census. The rest comes from industry, marketing, and trade groups. The tables, charts and graphs can be downloaded as images or into Microsoft Powerpoint and Excel.
Access: Use in Grainger Hall only (not wireless). This includes Business Learning Commons, Huber Lab and Finance & Analytics Lab. No remote access is permitted.

Technavio provides over 17,000 marketing research reports for over 100 industry segments and over 800 niche and emerging technologies.
Access: All access requires a UW-Madison NetID to log in. You must be a current UW-Madison faculty member, student, or staff to use this database either on or off-campus. PDFs of reports must be requested using a “wisc.edu” email address.

Full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, country profiles, industry reports from Business Monitor International and First Research (under the Browse tab), and key newspapers such as The Wall Street Journal, Financial Times, and The Economist. Covers a wide range of business topics including accounting, finance, management, marketing and real estate. (Updated daily)
Access: Available to anyone on-campus. Available off campus for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff only.

Census data for the United States and Puerto Rico from 2000-present. Includes the Decennial Census, the American Community Survey, and the Economic Census, among other surveys. Download data or create thematic maps from any table that displays more than one geography of the same type (state, county, etc.).
Access: Available to everyone.

Scholarly, trade, and popular business publications covering all business disciplines. Includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses. (Updated daily)
Access: Available to anyone on-campus. Available off campus for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff only. This resource is also available for use by all Wisconsin residents through BadgerLink.

Market conditions, opportunities, regulations, and business customs for over 125 countries prepared by trade and industry experts at U.S. embassies worldwide.
Access: Available to everyone.

The Resources page offers free downloads of all of Edison's publicly-available research including The Infinite Dial, America's longest running research series measuring digital platforms and their impact on the media landscape. Other reports include The Podcast Consumer, Moms and Media, and The Social Habit.
Access: Available to everyone.

Market research reports on over 700 different industries in the United States, organized by NAICS code. The reports include key statistics, market segmentation, life cycle, regulation, market share, industry outlook, and more.
Access: Available to anyone on-campus. Available off campus for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff only.

Includes over 900 reports on indirect purchasing lines and products. These reports show information on pricing environments, including key trends and forecasts, product characteristics, market share, supply chain vendors, and purchasing processes. In addition, the reports cover many different markets ranging from “fire doors” and “data mining services” to “explosives” and “language schooling.”
Access: Available to anyone on-campus. Available off campus for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff only.

Provides company profiles, industry reports, financial deal reports and,country reports. Also contains case studies. Industry profiles include Porter’s Five Forces.
Access: Available to anyone on-campus. Available off campus for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff only.

Richard K. Miller & Associates (RKMA) publishes 12 biennial business reference handbooks focused on marketing and the consumer marketplace. Each handbook includes market assessments and forecasts, sector trends, profiles of market leaders, and statistics. In addition to in-depth analyses, the handbooks include links to hundreds of websites for additional information.
Access: Available to anyone on-campus. Available off campus for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff only.

Current and historical U.S. census data and demographic information. Create maps and reports at all geographic levels including the state, county, census tract, block group, zip code and census place. Of special interest are the the entire US Census from 1790 to 2010, the American Community Survey, and the Religious Congregations and Membership Study (RCMS). (Updated continuously)
Access: Available to anyone on-campus. Available off campus for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff only. Licensed for 3 simultaneous users.