Databases
- NatMed Pro (previously known as Natural Medicines)Database with online tools and ebooks on dietary supplements, herbal medicines, and complementary and integrative therapies.
- LexidrugPoint-of-care drug information, including dosing, administration, warnings and precautions, as well as clinical content, such as clinical practice guidelines, IV compatibility from Trissel's 2 Clinical Pharmaceutics Database.
- PubMedPubMed is a database maintained by the National Library of Medicine. It contains over 30 million citations from various biomedical and health science fields and other related disciplines.
- PsycINFOLarge database covering the field of psychology, behavioral science and mental health, including the psychological aspects of medicine, nursing, education, physiology, business, law, and more.
- ScopusLarge, multidisciplinary database that covers science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
- Web of ScienceWeb of Science was originally produced by the Institute for Scientific Information and is currently maintained by Clarivate Analytics. Web of Science provides subscription-based access to multiple, interdisciplinary databases, and contains citations for traditional scholarly articles and gray literature.
Select Books (for additional books, see the Library Catalog)
Acid Revival: The psychedelic renaissance and the quest for medical legitimacy
By Danielle Giffort
Publication Date: 2020
"This colorful and accessible history of the rise, fall, and reemergence of psychedelic medicine is infused with intriguing narratives and personalities—a story for popular science aficionados as well as for scholars of the history of science and medicine."
Disruptive Psychopharmacology
Edited by Frederick S. Barett and Katrin H. Preller
Publication Date: 2022
"The current volume provides a comprehensive review of the state of the science of psychedelic therapies, including discussion of models and approaches to psychedelic therapies as well as the current status of safety and efficacy data for mood, substance use, trauma, obsessive-compulsive, neurodevelopmental, neurodegenerative disorders, neurological, and inflammatory disorders."
Mescaline: A global history of the first psychedelic
By Mike Jay
Publication Date: 2019
"Drawing on botany, pharmacology, ethnography, and the mind sciences and examining the mescaline experiences of figures from William James to Walter Benjamin to Hunter S. Thompson, this is an enthralling narrative of mescaline's many lives."
Drugged: The science and culture behind psychotropic drugs
By Richard Miller
Publication Date: 2014
"In 'Drugged,' Miller takes readers on an eye-opening tour of psychotropic drugs, describing the various kinds, how they were discovered and developed, and how they have played multiple roles in virtually every culture."
The Expanding World Ayahuasca Diaspora : Appropriation, Integration and Legislation
Edited by Michael J. Winkelman and Thomas B. Roberts
Publication Date: 2018
"The Expanding World Ayahuasca Diaspora continues to explore how certain alternative global religious groups, shamanic tourism industries and recreational drug milieus grounded in the consumption of the traditionally Amazonian psychoactive drink ayahuasca embody various challenges associated with modern societies."
Handbook of medical hallucinogens
Edited by Charles S. Grob, Jim Grigsby
Publication Date: 2021
"The book begins with a thorough discussion of the pharmacology of what are often called the 'classic' or 'serotonergic' hallucinogens, for which Nichols prefers the term 'psychedelics.' Following this are several chapters exploring the social, cultural, and political contexts in which the hallucinogens have been used over time. The book also provides an introduction to research conducted in the fields of anthropology and ethnobotany.
Sacred bliss : a spiritual history of cannabis
By Mark S. Ferrara
Publication Date: 2016
"Sacred Bliss challenges traditional attitudes about cannabis by tracing its essential role in the spiritual and curative traditions of Asia, the Middle East, Africa, Europe, and the Americas from prehistory to the present day...Today, the growing utilization of medical cannabis to alleviate the pain and symptoms of physical illness raises the possibility of using cannabis to treat the mind along with the body. By engaging sacred and secular texts from around the world, Sacred Bliss demonstrates that throughout religious history, cannabis has offered access to increased imagination and creativity, heightened perspective and insight, and deeper levels of thought."
Additional Resources
- ClinicalTrials.govClinicalTrials.gov is a Web-based resource that provides patients, their family members, health care professionals, researchers, and the public with easy access to information on publicly and privately supported clinical studies on a wide range of diseases and conditions. The Web site is maintained by the National Library of Medicine (NLM) at the National Institutes of Health (NIH). Information on ClinicalTrials.gov is provided and updated by the sponsor or principal investigator of the clinical study.
- UW Madison's Transdisciplinary Center for Research in Psychoactive SubstancesAn innovative research center for the science, history, and cultural impact of psychedelic agents and studying potential therapeutic use of psychoactive substances to change lives and improve patient health
- Multidisicplinary Association for Psychedelic Studies (MDMA)"Founded in 1986, the Multidisciplinary Association for Psychedelic Studies (MAPS) is a 501(c)(3) non-profit research and educational organization that develops medical, legal, and cultural contexts for people to benefit from the careful uses of psychedelics and marijuana."
- Wisconsin Legislature: 961.41Wisconsin law including legal information relating to psychoactive drugs. Note that this information is not meant to serve as legal advice, nor is the Ebling Library in the position to give any legal advice.
- Psychedelic Alpha: Psychedelics Legislation & Decriminalization Tracker (U.S.)Interactive U.S. map of policy initiatives relating to psychedelics, by state. Wisconsin law including legal information relating to psychoactive drugs. Note that this information is not meant to serve as legal advice, nor is the Ebling Library in the position to give any legal advice.
- UC Berkeley Center for the Science of PsychedelicsThis website provides a wealth of resources relating to psychedelics, including laws and patents, news, therapies and trials, and additional resources.
- Johns Hopkins' Center for Psychedelic & Consciousness ResearchThis site contains several resources from Johns Hopkins relating to current research in psychedelics and consciousness research.
New PubMed Articles Relating to Psychoactives
New PubMed Articles Relating to Psychoactives from UW-Madison
Videos
Psychedelics and Mental Health (PBS Wisconsin)
Cody Wenthur, Assistant Professor in the School of Pharmacy at UW-Madison describes how psychedelic-assisted psychotherapy may be used to treat end-of-life anxiety, treatment resistant depression, and post-traumatic stress disorder.
Psychedelics as Therapeutics: Gaps, Challenges and Opportunities
The 2022 NIH Workshop on Psychedelics as Therapeutics was conducted by the National Institute of Mental Health, the National Institute on Drug Abuse, and the National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism. Recordings of this workshop can be accessed via this link.