Overview
This page contains links to core resources for conducting research in Pharmacy, including new articles, databases, tutorials, and tools for accessing or finding articles.
Clinical Trials / Studies (primary sources)
- PubMed - Clinical QueriesClinical Queries is a filter in PubMed. It allows you to narrow your search to citations that address clinical studies.
- EmbaseEmbase is a biomedical database that includes sources on drugs and pharmacology, medical devices, clinical medicine, and basic sciences relevant to clinical medicine. It contains over 46.5 million records, 5.1 million conference abstracts, and over 8,400 journals.
- International Pharmaceutical Abstracts (IPA)Bibliographic coverage of pharmaceutical science and health literature in Biopharmaceutics, Drug Therapy, Economics, Ethics, Information Processing, Legislation, Regulation, Technology, Toxicity, Utilization, and more.
- CINAHL PlusHealth Sciences database (EBSCO) that covers literature in the fields of medicine, nursing, and related allied health disciplines. Also contains care sheets, education modules, research instruments records, standards of practice, and educational software.
- PsycINFOLarge database covering the field of psychology, behavioral science and mental health, including the psychological aspects of medicine, nursing, education, physiology, business, law, and more.
- Cochrane Registry of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL)he Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL) brings together abstracts of published articles from EMBASE, MEDLINE, and other published and unpublished sources.
- ClinicalTrials.govClinicalTrials.gov is managed by the United States National Library of Medicine (NLM) at the National Institutes of Health (NIH). It is the largest clinical trials database, and includes registrations from over 329,000 trials from 209 countries.
Systematic Reviews and Clinical Guidelines (secondary sources)
- PubMedPubMed is a database maintained by the National Library of Medicine. It contains over 30 million citations from various biomedical and health science fields and other related disciplines.
- PubMed-Clinical QueriesClinical Queries is a filter in PubMed. It allows you to narrow your search to citations that address clinical studies.
- EmbaseEmbase is a biomedical database that includes sources on drugs and pharmacology, medical devices, clinical medicine, and basic sciences relevant to clinical medicine. It contains over 46.5 million records, 5.1 million conference abstracts, and over 8,400 journals.
- CINAHL PlusHealth Sciences database (EBSCO) that covers literature in the fields of medicine, nursing, and related allied health disciplines. Also contains care sheets, education modules, research instruments records, standards of practice, and educational software.
- Cochrane Database of Systematic ReviewsThe Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR) contains protocols and reviews of interventions, diagnostic tests, and methodology.
- ScopusLarge, multidisciplinary database that covers science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
- National Comphrensive Cancer Network GuidelinesContains links to clinical practice guidelines from the National Comprehensive Cancer Network. In order to access the guidelines, sign up for a free account.
Background (tertiary sources)
- LexidrugPoint-of-care drug information, including dosing, administration, warnings and precautions, as well as clinical content, such as clinical practice guidelines, IV compatibility from Trissel's 2 Clinical Pharmaceutics Database.
- NatMed Pro (formerly known as Natural Medicines)Database with online tools and ebooks on dietary supplements, herbal medicines, and complementary and integrative therapies.
- UpToDateUpToDate covers more than 7,700 topics in 15 medical specialties and includes more than 80,000 pages of text, plus graphics, links to Medline abstracts, more than 260,000 references and a drug database.
- DynaMedDynaMed is a clinical decision support system that provides clinicians with evidence-based information for quick answers at the point of care. Integrated Micromedex content provides resources to help better inform prescription decisions, medication management strategies and treatment decisions as a result of lab tests in the course of patient care.
- ClinicalKeyClinicalKey is a point-of-care resource for health care professionals designed to provide clinicians with answers quickly. ClinicalKey includes books (1,000+), journals (500+), videos (13,000+), practice guidelines (2,000+), images, patient education handouts, and drug monographs.
- AccessPharmacyAccessPharmacy contains a wealth of learning resources for pharmacy students, including access to books, review questions (including NAPLEX review questions and guides), flashcards, videos, lectures, and more!
- AccessMedicineProvides the full-text of 60 of the top current clinical textbooks including Harrison’s Online and Current Medical Diagnosis & Treatment. It also offers a video/audio database, image database (with thousands of photos/illustrations), interactive self-assessment, case files, diagnostic tools, drug monographs, and the ability to download content to a mobile device.
Looking for books? Check out the Books by Subject page for Pharmacology/Toxicology.
Additional Resources
- ERICReferences to published and unpublished texts on education topics sourced from journal articles, books, conference papers, technical reports, policy papers, and more.
- Web of ScienceWeb of Science was originally produced by the Institute for Scientific Information and is currently maintained by Clarivate Analytics. Web of Science provides subscription-based access to multiple, interdisciplinary databases, and contains citations for traditional scholarly articles and gray literature.
- Google ScholarGoogle Scholar contains articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.
Accessing Articles
Find It 
Find It provides links from a citation in a database to the full text of that article, if available, and to other helpful resources and services such as an automatic search of the Library Catalog, a direct link to an interlibrary loan form, and a link to ask for additional assistance from a librarian.
The Find It button should automatically appear in select databases if you access them through the library's proxy.
Interlibrary Loan and Article Delivery
If the library doesn't have access to a full text article you can request the full text through the library's Interlibrary Loan and Article Delivery Service.
Citation Finder
Locate articles when you have a citation using Citation Search.
Download BrowZine for e-journals
You can use Browzine to browse journals. Your UW NetID login is required after downloading the software. Apple, Android, and Kindle readers are supported. Note that not all Pharmacy journals are included in this tool.