"This database provides the deepest level of drug information with off-label uses and recommendations from an authoritative source. A recognized Official Compendium by the US Congress, this is the only drug information resource published from a professional scientific association." (description from publisher)

AHFS Consumer Medication Information is a trusted source and recognized standard for patient drug information, available in both English and Spanish. Published by the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists, AHFS includes more than a thousand drug information monographs written in lay language for consumers. (Updated monthly)

Derived from the more extensive and detailed AHFS Drug Information, the AHFS DI Essentials database provides a deeper level of actionable drug information and includes off-label uses. This database is ideal for more detailed questions at the point-of-care. The drug monograph content is derived from AHFS Drug Information, a premier source of meticulously evidence-based drug information. Includes information on safe drug use in pregnant and breast-feeding women, off label uses, and an overview of the drug’s pharmacologic actions and effects.

The National Library of Medicine's LactMed® database contains information on drugs and other chemicals to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed. It includes information on the levels of such substances in breast milk and infant blood, and the possible adverse effects in the nursing infant. Suggested therapeutic alternatives to those drugs are provided, where appropriate. All data are derived from the scientific literature and fully referenced. A peer review panel reviews the data to assure scientific validity and currency.

Point-of-care drug information, including dosing, administration, warnings and precautions, as well as clinical content, such as clinical practice guidelines, IV compatibility from Trissel's 2 Clinical Pharmaceutics Database.

LiverTox is a resource created by the National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases at the National Institutes of Health. It provides up-to-date, unbiased and easily accessed information on the diagnosis, cause, frequency, clinical patterns and management of liver injury attributable to prescription and nonprescription medications and selected herbal and dietary supplements.

Database with online tools and ebooks on dietary supplements, herbal medicines, and complementary and integrative therapies.

PubChem is the world's largest collection of freely accessible chemical information. Search chemicals by name, molecular formula, structure, and other identifiers. Find chemical and physical properties, biological activities, safety and toxicity information, patents, literature citations and more.

UpToDate covers more than 7,700 topics in 15 medical specialties and includes more than 80,000 pages of text, plus graphics, links to Medline abstracts, more than 260,000 references and a drug database. Physician editors and authors review and update the content continuously.

Lexi-Interact Online combines literature and scientific understanding of drug interactions throughout the world with a state-of-the-art electronic platform, providing an efficient way to help inform healthcare professionals about adverse drug events that otherwise can compromise the care of patients.

Look up dosing, indications, and adverse reactions quickly for generic and brand-name drugs, with printable patient handouts presented in English and Spanish.

The book is designed to provide a comprehensive, authoritative, and readable pharmacology textbook for students in the health sciences.

The publication of the twelfth edition of this book is a testament to the vision and ideals of the original authors, Alfred Gilman and Louis Goodman, who, in 1941 set forth the principles that have guided the book through eleven editions: to correlate pharmacology with related medical sciences, to reinterpret the actions and uses of drugs in light of advances in medicine and the basic biomedical sciences, to emphasize the applications of pharmacodynamics to therapeutics, and to create a book that will be useful to students of pharmacology and to physicians.

Get information about drug products approved by FDA based on safety and effectiveness, find patent and exclusivity information, and look up drugs that have the same therapeutic effect.

United States Pharmacopeia and National Formulary (USP-NF) contains the pharmacopeial standards for drugs, dietary supplements, and excipients, as well as procedures for tests, assays, analytical methods, and more.

ClinicalTrials.gov is a Web-based resource that provides patients, their family members, health care professionals, researchers, and the public with easy access to information on publicly and privately supported clinical studies on a wide range of diseases and conditions. The Web site is maintained by the National Library of Medicine (NLM) at the National Institutes of Health (NIH). Information on ClinicalTrials.gov is provided and updated by the sponsor or principal investigator of the clinical study.

Maintained by the National Library of Medicine, DailyMed provides trustworthy information about marketed drugs in the United States. DailyMed is the official provider of FDA label information (package inserts). The website provides a standard, comprehensive, up-to-date, look-up and download resource of medication content and labeling found in medication package inserts.

The NLM Drug Information Portal gives users a gateway to selected drug information from the National Library of Medicine and other key government agencies.

Contains a variety of information, including, among other things, news, approvals, availability, and compliance relating to FDA regulated drugs.

The mission of the European Medicines Agency (EMA) is to foster scientific excellence in the evaluation and supervision of medicines, for the benefit of public and animal health in the European Union (EU).

Contains data for human adverse events reported to the FDA by the pharmaceutical industry, healthcare providers and consumers.

The Institute for Safe Medication Practices (ISMP) is the only 501c (3) nonprofit organization devoted entirely to preventing medication errors. ISMP is known and respected as the gold standard for medication safety information. It also has served as a vital force for progress. ISMP’s advocacy work alone has resulted in numerous necessary changes in clinical practice, public policy, and drug labeling and packaging.

The Drug Listing Act of 1972 requires registered drug establishments to provide the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) with a current list of all drugs manufactured, prepared, propagated, compounded, or processed by it for commercial distribution. (See Section 510 of the Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act (Act) (21 U.S.C. § 360)). Drug products are identified and reported using a unique, three-segment number, called the National Drug Code (NDC), which serves as a universal product identifier for drugs. FDA publishes the listed NDC numbers and the information submitted as part of the listing information in the NDC Directory which is updated daily.

"The United States Pharmacopeia – National Formulary (USP-NF) includes over 5000 quality standards for medicines, both chemical and biologic; active pharmaceutical ingredients (APIs); and excipients (inactive ingredients)."

To find drug classes in Lexicomp: (1) Click "more clinical tools" in the upper right-hand corner (2) Click "Indexes" (3) Click "Lexi-Drugs" (4) On the left-hand side, click "Pharmacologic/Therapeutic Category"

To find drug classes in DailyMed, click "Browse Drug Classes" below the search bar.

This link contains a list of all of the pharmacological action categories in MeSH.

To find a specific drug's pharmacological action categories: (1) Enter the drug into the search bar, and click "search" (2) Click the drug of interest from the list of results (3) Scroll down until you see the heading for "Pharmacological Action"

The FDA Drug Safety Podcasts are produced by FDA's Center for Drug Evaluation and Research (CDER). They provide emerging safety information about drugs in conjunction with the release of Drug Safety Communications.

News relating to FDA regulated drugs.

News relating to the European Medicines Agency.

The ISMP Medication Safety Alert! newsletters are intended for all healthcare practitioners in all types of settings. The newsletters are fueled by the thousands of error reports which are received through the National Medication Errors Reporting Program (MERP) and National Vaccine Errors Reporting Program (VERP).