- University of Wisconsin-Madison
- Research Guides
- College Undergraduate Research Group
- Social Issues: An Undergraduate Research Guide
- Capital Punishment/Death Penalty
Social Issues: An Undergraduate Research Guide : Capital Punishment/Death Penalty
News
- Newspaper Source PlusNewspaper Source Plus includes 1,520 full-text newspapers, providing more than 28 million full-text articles.
- Newspaper Research GuideThis guide describes sources for current and historical newspapers available in print, electronically, and on microfilm through the UW-Madison Libraries. These sources are categorized by pages: Current, Historical, Local/Madison, Wisconsin, US, Alternative/Ethnic, and International.
Organizations
- ACLU Death Penalty CampaignThe Capital Punishment Project (CPP) challenges the unfairness and arbitrariness of capital punishment while working toward the ultimate goal of abolishing the death penalty.
- Amnesty International (AI)Worldwide movement supporting human rights for all
- National Coalition to Abolish the Death PenaltyDevoted to abolishing capital punishment
- Pro-Death Penalty.comSite provides information in support of the death penalty, from Justice for All: a Criminal Justice Reform Organization.
About Capital Punishment/Death Penalty
This guide includes sources dealing with the legal, ethical, and social issues involved in capital punishment/the death penalty.
Try searching these terms using the resources linked on this page: capital punishment, capital punishment AND DNA, capital punishment AND (name of country or state), death penalty, death penalty AND execution*, death row.
Overview Resources - Background Information
- Capital Punishment/The Death Penalty Resource GuideFrom the National Center for State Courts
- Ethics - Capital punishmentGuide to capital punishment from the BBC including both sides of the debate
- Opposing Viewpoints Resource CenterOpposing Viewpoints Resource Center (OVRC) provides viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles related to controversial social issues.
- CQ ResearcherContains weekly in-depth reports that cover the most current and controversial issues of the day with complete summaries, insight into all sides of the issues, bibliographies and more.
Books
Executing Freedom: The Cultural Life of Capital Punishment in the United States by Call Number: HV8699.U5 L33 2016 or ebookISBN: 9780226066721Publication Date: 2016-11-18
13 Ways of Looking at the Death Penalty by Call Number: K5104 .M368 2015ISBN: 9781609805678Publication Date: 2015-03-24
Gruesome Spectacles: Botched Executions and America's Death Penalty by Call Number: HV8699 U5 S268 2014 or ebookISBN: 9780804789165Publication Date: 2014-04-30
Cruel and Unusual: the American Death Penalty and the Founders' Eighth Amendment by Call Number: KF9227 C2 B478 2013ISBN: 1555538258Publication Date: 2013-08-13
The Death Penalty by Call Number: HV8699 U5 D343 2013ISBN: 9780737749618Publication Date: 2013-01-09
Articles - Scholarly and Popular
- Academic SearchAcademic Search Premier is a multidisciplinary database that provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including approximately 3,900 peer-reviewed titles.
- SocINDEX with Full-TextSocINDEX with Full Text includes full text for 397 "core coverage" sociology journals dating back to 1908 and 150 "priority coverage" journals. It also includes full text for more than 720 books and 6,743 conference papers.
Statistics and Data
- "Incarceration and Capital Punishment" from Information PleaseSee "Characteristics of Prisoners Under Sentence of Death," "Women on Death Row," "Methods of Execution," "Death Row Exonerations"
- Bureau of Justice StatisticsExecution statistics from the U.S. Department of Justice.
- Polling Report.comAn independent, nonpartisan resource
on trends in American public opinion. - The Federal Death Penalty System: A Statistical SurveyFrom the U.S. Department of Justice