- University of Wisconsin-Madison
- Research Guides
- College Undergraduate Research Group
- Families: An Undergraduate Research Guide
- Same Sex Marriage/Marriage Equality
Families: An Undergraduate Research Guide : Same Sex Marriage/Marriage Equality
News
- Newspaper Source PlusNewspaper Source Plus includes 1,520 full-text newspapers, providing more than 28 million full-text articles.
- Newspaper Research GuideThis guide describes sources for current and historical newspapers available in print, electronically, and on microfilm through the UW-Madison Libraries. These sources are categorized by pages: Current, Historical, Local/Madison, Wisconsin, US, Alternative/Ethnic, and International.
Organizations-Local
- UW-Madison LGBT Campus CenterThe Mission of the Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Queer (LGBTQ) Campus Center is to strengthen and sustain an inclusive campus community for LGBTQ and allied students by eliminating heterosexism, homophobia, and gender identity oppression.
About Same Sex Marriage/Marriage Equality
This guide addresses the legislative, religious, familial, and individual aspects of same-sex marriage. It covers arguments for and against same-sex marriage, focusing on the United States and Canada.
Try searching using these search terms: marriage equality, gay marriage, gay AND [insert state], same sex marriage AND catholic church, same sex marriage and Constitution, Federal Marriage Amendment, civil unions, gay couples AND religion, gay rights, same sex marriage AND child, LGBT families
Overview Resources
- Opposing Viewpoints Resource CenterOpposing Viewpoints Resource Center (OVRC) provides viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles related to controversial social issues.
- The Pew Forum on Religion & Public Life: Gay MarriageThis site features a special report on the same-sex marriage debate, including an analysis of the constitutional dimensions of the debate as well as public opinion on gay marriage and civil unions.
- Same-Sex Marriage, Civil Unions, and Domestic PartnershipsA collection of news and links about same-sex marriage in the U.S. from The New York Times.
Books
Marriage Equality: From Outlaws to In-laws by Call Number: ebookISBN: 9780300221817Publication Date: 2020-08-18
After Marriage Equality: The Future of LGBT Rights by Call Number: HQ73.3.U6 A38 2016 or ebookISBN: 9781479883080Publication Date: 2016-06-14
LGBT Families by Call Number: HQ75.28 U6 M49 2015 or ebookISBN: 9781452217383Publication Date: 2014-07-10
Forcing the Spring: Inside the Fight for Marriage Equality by Call Number: KF228 H645 B43 2014ISBN: 9781594204449Publication Date: 2014-04-22
Against Equality: Queer Critiques of Gay Marriage by Call Number: HQ76.3.U6 A383 2010ISBN: 9780615392684Publication Date: 2010-09-01
Articles-Scholarly and Popular
- Academic SearchIncludes scholarly and popular articles on many topics.
- LGBT Life in Full TextTopics covered include LGBT Studies, issues affecting the lives of LGBT people, queer theory, and more.
- PAIS (Public Affairs)Its subject matter covers public policy, social policy, and the social sciences in general.
- GenderWatchA gender, women, and gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender (GLBT) issues database with thousands of English-language full-text articles from over 200 magazines, academic journals, regional publications, and newsletters.
Statistics and Data
- Statistical Abstract of the United StatesThis tool is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Sources of data include the Census Bureau, Bureau of Labor Statistics, Bureau of Economic Analysis, and many other Federal agencies and private organizations.