Families: An Undergraduate Research Guide : Children of Divorce
News
- Newspaper Source PlusNewspaper Source Plus includes 1,520 full-text newspapers, providing more than 28 million full-text articles.
- Newspaper Paper Research GuideThis guide describes sources for current and historical newspapers available in print, electronically, and on microfilm through the UW-Madison Libraries. These sources are categorized by pages: Current, Historical, Local/Madison, Wisconsin, US, Alternative/Ethnic, and International.
Organizations
- Students for Families and ChildrenStudents for Families and Children serves as a resource for undergraduate students to become more involved in the community through volunteer opportunities. Activities focus on meeting the needs of families and children in the Madison area and beyond; including helping at food pantries, charity run/walks, and planning events for children and their families.
- Children's Rights Council"CRC works to assure a child the frequent, meaningful and continuing contact with two parents and extended family the child would normally have during a marriage. We work to strengthen families through education, favoring family formation.
About Children of Divorce
This guide deals with the impact that divorce may have on children, and includes sources which approach the topic from statistical, sociological and economic perspectives.
Try searching these terms using the resources linked on this page: children of divorced parents, children of single parent*, children and divorce and education, and divorce and child support.
Overview Resources - Background Information
- CQ ResearcherContains weekly in-depth reports that cover the most current and controversial issues of the day with complete summaries, insight into all sides of the issues, bibliographies and more.
- Opposing Viewpoints Resource CenterOpposing Viewpoints Resource Center (OVRC) provides viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles related to controversial social issues.
- Encyclopaedia Britannica OnlineBritannica Online is a searchable collection of authoritative references, including Britannica's latest encyclopedia articles.
- MedlinePlus: DivorceA service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health, Medline provides authoritative information on coping with divorce.
Books
Divorcing with Children: Expert Answers to Tough Questions from Parents and Children by Call Number: HQ777.5 L54 2008 or ebookISBN: 9780275993115Publication Date: 2008-06-30
Divorce: Causes and Consequences by Call Number: HQ814 C55 2006 or ebookISBN: 9780300110449Publication Date: 2006-04-06
The Unexpected Legacy of Divorce: A 25 Year Landmark Study by Call Number: HQ834 W356 2000ISBN: 0786863943Publication Date: 2000-09-06
Articles - Scholarly and Popular
- Academic Search PremierAcademic Search Premier is a multidisciplinary database that provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including approximately 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. A total of 8,500 journals are indexed and abstracted.
- PsycINFOThis database contains more than one million citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations and technical reports, all in the field of psychology.
- Family & Society Studies WorldwideFamily & Society Studies Worldwide provides comprehensive coverage of research, policy, and practice literature in the fields of Family Science, Human Ecology, Human Development, and Social Welfare.
Statistics and Data
- Statistical Abstract of the USThe authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Sources of data include the Census Bureau, Bureau of Labor Statistics, Bureau of Economic Analysis, and many other Federal agencies and private organizations.
Videos
- Kids & Divorce : For Better or WorseKids & Divorce examines the emotional and legal aftermath of divorce, seeking to answer: What's best for the kids? In their own voices, parents and children tell their stories of facing divorce's fallout.
- The Vanderbilt Television News ArchiveThe Vanderbilt Television News Archive is the world's most extensive and complete archive of television news. We have been recording, preserving and providing access to television news broadcasts of the national networks since August 5, 1968.