The Environment: An Undergraduate Research Guide : Renewable Energy
- Writing, Citing, & Research Help
- Climate Change
- Endangered Species
- Nuclear Waste
- Renewable Energy
- Newspaper Source PlusNewspaper Source Plus includes 1,520 full-text newspapers, providing more than 28 million full-text articles.
- Newspaper Research GuideThis guide describes sources for current and historical newspapers available in print, electronically, and on microfilm through the UW-Madison Libraries. These sources are categorized by pages: Current, Historical, Local/Madison, Wisconsin, US, Alternative/Ethnic, and International.
- MGE Clean Power Partner Programsell power back to the grid
- Database of State Incentives for Renewables & EfficiencyDSIRE is the most comprehensive source of information on incentives and policies that support renewable energy and energy efficiency in the United States. Established in 1995, DSIRE is operated by the N.C. Clean Energy Technology Center at N.C. State University and is funded by the U.S. Department of Energy.
- California Energy CommissionAs the state's primary energy policy and planning agency, the California Energy Commission is committed to reducing energy costs and environmental impacts of energy use - such as greenhouse gas emissions - while ensuring a safe, resilient, and reliable supply of energy.
- National Renewable Energy Laboratory Photo Collectionsoffers photos that can be used for educational and non-profit use free of charge
About Renewable Energy
This guide contains information on social, economic, and political perspectives on renewable energy; in addition to renewable energy technologies including wind, solar, geothermal, and hydroelectric power.
Try searching these terms using the resources linked on this page: renewable energy AND solar OR hydrogen, wind power, solar power, hydroelectric power AND renewable.
Overview Resources-Background Information
- U.S. Department of Energy Energy Efficiency and Renewable EnergyGovernment programs on Geothermal, Solar, Wind and Hydropower Technologies
- Learning About Renewable EnergyResources on renewable energy from the National Renewable Energy Laboratory.
- Opposing Viewpoints in ContextOpposing Viewpoints in Context provides viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles related to controversial social issues.
- Following Oil: Four Decades of Cycle-Testing Experiences and What They Foretell about U.S. Energy Independence by Thomas A. PetrieISBN: 9780806144207Publication Date: 2013-12-17
- Sun Power: How Energy from the Sun is Changing Lives Around the World, Empowering America, and Saving the Planet by Neville WilliamsISBN: 0765333775Publication Date: 2014-04-22
- Burn Out: The Endgame for Fossil Fuels by Dieter HelmISBN: 0300225628Publication Date: 2017-04-25
- Thirst for Power: Energy, Water, and Human Survival by Michael E. WebberISBN: 0300212461Publication Date: 2016-04-26
- The Renaissance of Renewable Energy by Gian Andrea Pagnoni; Stephen RocheISBN: 1107025605Publication Date: 2015-03-16
Articles-Scholarly and Popular
- Academic SearchIncludes scholarly and popular articles on many topics.
- Agricultural & Environmental Science DatabaseThe Agricultural & Environmental Science Database is a cross-disciplinary resource of full-text content along with indexing of global literature across these fields and related disciplines. Peer-reviewed journals, trade publications, magazines, and grey literature as well as working papers, conference papers and proceedings are included. Includes Sustainability Science Abstracts and Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management.
- ProQuest One Business (formerly ABI Inform)The database covers a wide range of business topics including accounting, finance, management, marketing and real estate.
Statistics and Data
- Statistical AbstractThe authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Sources of data include the Census Bureau, Bureau of Labor Statistics, Bureau of Economic Analysis, and many other Federal agencies and private organizations.
- IEA Energy Statistics HomepageThe International Energy Agency provides statistics on energy consumption for many countries.
- Energy Information AdministrationOfficial Energy Statistics from the U.S. Government on Renewable & Alternative Fuels