The Environment: An Undergraduate Research Guide : Fracking
News
- Newspaper Source PlusNewspaper Source Plus includes 1,520 full-text newspapers, providing more than 28 million full-text articles.
- Newspaper Research GuideThis guide describes sources for current and historical newspapers available in print, electronically, and on microfilm through the UW-Madison Libraries. Sources are divided into categories: Current, Historical, Local/Madison, Wisconsin, US, Alternative/Ethnic, and International.
Organizations
- Americans Against Fracking"Our goal, quite simply, is to ban fracking. To that end, we support federal, state and local efforts to ban fracking, enact moratoriums and to stop practices that facilitate fracking like natural gas exports, frac sand mining and the construction of pipelines."
About Fracking
"Fracking" is short for "hydraulic fracturing," and involves the high pressure injection of liquid in order to drill for natural gas and oil.
Try searching these terms using the resources linked on this page: hydraulic fracturing, hydraulic fracturing AND oil, hydraulic fracturing AND gas, hydraulic fracturing AND environment, hydraulic fracturing AND policy, hydraulic fracturing AND law.
Overview Resources - Background Information
- CQ ResearcherContains weekly in-depth reports that cover the most current and controversial issues of the day with complete summaries, insight into all sides of the issues, bibliographies and more.
- Opposing Viewpoints Resource CenterOpposing Viewpoints Resource Center (OVRC) provides viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles related to controversial social issues.
- Environmental Protection AgencyThe US EPA's informational webpage on hydraulic fracturing.
Books
Fractured Communities: Risk, Impacts, and Protest Against Hydraulic Fracking in U.S. Shale Regions by Call Number: HD9565 .F723 2017 or ebookISBN: 9780813587677Publication Date: 2018-03-23
The Shale Dilemma: A Global Perspective on Fracking and Shale by Call Number: HD9581.2.S53 S533 2018 or ebookISBN: 9780822945130Publication Date: 2018-02-15
The Fracking Debate: : the risks, benefits, and uncertainties of the shale revolution by Call Number: TD195.G3 R34 2018 or ebookISBN: 9780231184861Publication Date: 2017-12-26
The real cost of fracking: How America's shale gas boom is threatening our families, pets, and food by Call Number: TD195 G3 B36 2014ISBN: 9780807084939Publication Date: 2014-08-05
The boom: How fracking ignited the American energy revolution and changed the world by Call Number: HD9565 G65 2014ISBN: 9781451692280Publication Date: 2014-04-08
Articles - Scholarly and Popular
- Academic Search PremierIncludes scholarly and popular articles on many topics.
- Applied Science & Technology Full TextIncludes indexing and abstracts for more than 760 English-language scientific and technical publications dating back to 1983.
Statistics
- Data Citation IndexThe Data Citation Index provides a single point of access to quality research data from repositories across disciplines and around the world. Through linked content and summary information, this data is displayed within the broader context of the scholarly research, enabling users to gain perspective that is lost when data sets or repositories are viewed in isolation.