The Environment: An Undergraduate Research Guide : Climate Change
- Writing, Citing, & Research Help
- Climate Change
- Endangered Species
- Nuclear Waste
- Renewable Energy
- Newspaper Source PlusNewspaper Source Plus includes 1,520 full-text newspapers, providing more than 28 million full-text articles.
- Newspaper Research GuideThis guide describes sources for current and historical newspapers available in print, electronically, and on microfilm through the UW-Madison Libraries. These sources are categorized by pages: Current, Historical, Local/Madison, Wisconsin, US, Alternative/Ethnic, and International.
- Carbon Migration InitativeThe Carbon Mitigation Initiative (CMI) is a 20-year partnership between Princeton University and BP with the goal of finding solutions to the carbon and climate problem.
- Climate Change and Wisconsin's Great LakesFrom the State of Wisconsin's Department of Natural Resources (DNR)
- Kyoto ProtocolThe Kyoto Protocol is an international agreement linked to the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change, which commits its Parties by setting internationally binding emission reduction targets.
- Union of Concerned ScientistsOur scientists and engineers develop and implement innovative, practical solutions to some of our planet’s most pressing problems—from combating global warming and developing sustainable ways to feed, power, and transport ourselves, to fighting misinformation and reducing the threat of nuclear war.
About Climate Change
Rising global temperatures have been accompanied by changes in weather and climate. It is usually attributed to an enhanced greenhouse effect, tending to intensify with the increase in atmospheric carbon dioxide. This Research Guide includes sources relevant to the investigation for causes and effects on the environment of the atmospheric greenhouse effect and global climate change.
Try searching these terms using the resources linked on this page: climate change*, greenhouse effect, greenhouse gas*, global climate change, global warming, greenhouse gas mitigation, carbon dioxide mitigation, carbon sequestration, global temperature changes, paleoclimatology, deglaciation, fossil fuel* and climate change*
Overview Resources - Background Information
- Global Climate ChangeFrom NASA
- Opposing Viewpoints Resource CenterOpposing Viewpoints Resource Center (OVRC) provides viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles related to controversial social issues.
- State of the ClimateFact sheets & briefs from the Pew Center on Global Climate Change
- A Bright Future by Joshua S. Goldstein; Staffan A. Qvist; Steven Pinker (Foreword by)ISBN: 9781541724099Publication Date: 2019
- The Uninhabitable Earth: Life After Warming by David Wallace-WellsISBN: 0525576703Publication Date: 2019
- Climate Justice: Hope, Resilience, and the Fight for a Sustainable Future by Mary RobinsonISBN: 1632869284Publication Date: 2018
- The Great Derangement: Climate Change and the Unthinkable by Amitav GhoshISBN: 022632303XPublication Date: 2016
- This Changes Everything: Capitalism vs. The Climate by Naomi KleinISBN: 1451697384Publication Date: 2014
- The Sixth Extinction: An Unnatural History by Elizabeth KolbertISBN: 0805092994Publication Date: 2014
Articles - Scholarly and Popular
- Academic SearchIncludes scholarly and popular articles on many topics.
- Environmental Sciences and Pollution ManagementIncludes articles on basic science areas of bacteriology, ecology, toxicology, environmental engineering, environmental biotechnology, waste management, and water resources.
- Meteorological & Geoastrophysical AbstractsIncludes articles on the fields of meteorology, climatology, physical oceanography, hydrology, glaciology, and atmospheric chemistry and physics
- Web of ScienceIncludes predominately scholarly articles on a wide range of scientific disciplines.
Statistics and Data
- Center for Climate and Energy Solutions (C2ES)An independent, nonpartisan, nonprofit organization working to advance strong policy and action to address our climate and energy challenges.
- National Climatic Data CenterNOAA's National Climatic Data Center (NCDC) provids public access to the largest archive of climatic and historical weather data.
- U.S. Global Change Research ProgramThe U.S. Global Change Research Program (USGCRP) was established by Presidential Initiative in 1989 and mandated by Congress in the Global Change Research Act (GCRA) of 1990 to “assist the Nation and the world to understand, assess, predict, and respond to human-induced and natural processes of global change.”
- U.S. Greenhouse Gas Inventory Report: 1990-2014EPA develops an annual report called the Inventory of U.S. Greenhouse Gas Emissions and Sinks (Inventory). This report tracks total annual U.S. emissions and removals by source, economic sector, and greenhouse gas going back to 1990. EPA uses national energy data, data on national agricultural activities, and other national statistics to provide a comprehensive accounting of total greenhouse gas emissions for all man-made sources in the United States.