Alcohol and Other Drugs: An Undergraduate Research Guide : Sports & Drugs
News
- Newspaper Source PlusNewspaper Source Plus includes 1,520 full-text newspapers, providing more than 28 million full-text articles.
- Newspaper Research GuideThis guide describes sources for current and historical newspapers available in print, electronically, and on microfilm through the UW-Madison Libraries. These sources are categorized by pages: Current, Historical, Local/Madison, Wisconsin, US, Alternative/Ethnic, and International.
Organizations
- National Institute on Drug Abuse - SteroidsFind publications and research reports.
- NCAA Drug TestingInformation on the NCAA's drug testing policies and drug prevention educational programming.
- U.S. Anti-Doping AgencyThe USADA is "the official anti-doping agency for Olympic, Pan American and Paralympic sport in the United States." This site includes publications, video, definitions, and press releases.
- United States Olympic CommitteeContains links to national and international anti-doping rules.
- World Anti-Doping AgencyWADA was established in 1999 as an international independent agency composed and funded equally by the sport movement and governments of the world. Its key activities include scientific research, education, development of anti-doping capacities, and monitoring of the World Anti Doping Code (Code) – the document harmonizing anti-doping policies in all sports and all countries.
About Sports & Drugs
This guide explores the use of drugs by athletes. It includes performance-enhancing drugs as well as narcotics and alcohol. Drug testing of athletes is also included.
Try searching these terms using the resources linked on this page: athletes AND drugs, athletes AND steroids, athletes AND alcohol, "drug testing" AND olympi*, "anabolic steroids," "doping in sports," sports AND drugs, football AND steroids, weightlift* AND steroids, creatine, androstenedione
Overview Resources - Background Information
- Global Drug Reference OnlineThe Global Drug Reference Online is a partnership between UK Anti-Doping (UKAD), the Canadian Centre for Ethics in Sport (CCES), and the United States Anti-Doping Agency (USADA). Global DRO provides athletes and support personnel with information about the prohibited status of specific substances based on the current World Anti-Doping Agency (WADA) Prohibited List.
- Opposing Viewpoints Resource CenterOpposing Viewpoints Resource Center (OVRC) provides viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles related to controversial social issues.
Books
Steroids and Doping in Sports: a Reference Handbook, 2nd Edition by Call Number: ebookISBN: 1440854823Publication Date: 2018-04-04
The Challenges of Modern Sport to Ethics: From Doping to Cyborgs by ISBN: 9780739179987Publication Date: 2013-04-25
Performance-Enhancing Technologies in Sports: Ethical Conceptual and Scientific Issues by ISBN: 0801893615Publication Date: 2009-09-16
The Ethics of Doping and Anti-Doping: Redeeming the Soul of Sport? by ISBN: 0415484669Publication Date: 2009-09-21
Articles - Scholarly & Popular
- Academic SearchIncludes scholarly and popular articles on many topics.
- SPORTDiscusIncludes articles on sports and physical fitness topics.
- Health Source: Nursing/AcademicThis resource provides articles focusing on many medical disciplines.
Statistics
- International Association of Athletics Federation: Anti-DopingIn this section you will find all documents concerning the fight against doping.
- World Anti-Doping Agency Laboratory StatisticsIncludes links to an annually published overview of the analytical results reported by the accredited anti-doping laboratories.