Alcohol and Other Drugs: An Undergraduate Research Guide : Drinking Age
News
- Newspaper Source PlusNewspaper Source Plus includes 1,520 full-text newspapers, providing more than 28 million full-text articles.
- CQ ResearcherContains weekly in-depth reports that cover the most current and controversial issues of the day with complete summaries, insight into all sides of the issues, bibliographies and more.
- Newspaper Research GuideThis guide describes sources for current and historical newspapers available in print, electronically, and on microfilm through the UW-Madison Libraries. These sources are categorized by pages: Current, Historical, Local/Madison, Wisconsin, US, Alternative/Ethnic, and International.
Organizations
- Higher Education Center for Alcohol and Drug Misuse Prevention & RecoveryProvides colleges and universities the tools and resources to launch alcohol and drug misuse prevention and recovery programs on their campuses.
- Mothers Against Drunk Driving (MADD)National organization dedicated to stopping drunk driving and preventing underage drinking.
- Foundation for Advancing Alcohol ResponsibilityThe Foundation for Advancing Alcohol Responsibility (Responsibility.org) leads the fight to eliminate drunk driving and underage drinking and promotes responsible decision-making regarding beverage alcohol.
- Center on Alcohol Marketing and YouthThe Center on Alcohol Marketing and Youth (CAMY) employs a public health approach to prevent and reduce alcohol-related problems among young people. To this end, our work focuses on the marketing variables of product, place, promotion and price, and the role these variables play in youth drinking and related problems.
About Drinking Age
This Research Guide is an introduction to the topic of a standardized minimum drinking age nationwide, which has been law since Congress passed the Federal Uniform Drinking Act in 1984. It also covers the problems of underage drinking and alcohol-related traffic accidents.
Try searching these terms using the resources linked on this page: drinking age, underage drinking, college and drinking, binge drinking, alcohol and (automobile or traffic) and accident*, drinking age and law*, teenagers and alcohol
Overview Resources - Background Information
- Alcohol: Problems and SolutionsAward winning site which offers information on the minimum legal drinking age around the world, underage drinking, driving accidents involving alcohol and other related topics.
- College Drinking: Changing the CultureInformation from the National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism.
- Opposing Viewpoints Resource CenterOpposing Viewpoints Resource Center (OVRC) provides viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles related to controversial social issues.
Books
Getting Wasted: Why College Students Drink so Much and Party too Hard by ISBN: 9780814788325Publication Date: 2011
The Science of Drinking: How Alcohol Affects Your Body and Mind by ISBN: 9781442204119Publication Date: 2011
Binge: What Your College Student Won't Tell You : Campus Life in an Age of Disconnection and Excess by ISBN: 9780471491194Publication Date: 2005
Articles - Scholarly and Popular
- Philosopher's IndexA database covering worldwide research in all areas of philosophy. There is basically no literature that argues for lowering the drinking age, so arguments in favor of lowering the drinking age will need to be philosophical in nature, rather than supported by scientific study.
- Academic SearchIncludes scholarly and popular articles on many topics.
- PsycINFOIncludes articles on psychology topics.
- CINAHL Plus with Full Text (Nursing and Allied Health Literature)Includes articles on medical topics.
Statistics
Videos
- Do I drink too much? : human biology, genetics, and alcoholWhy does tolerance for alcohol differ so widely from person to person? Do genetic factors make alcoholism unavoidable in some people? Should we drink at all? This program searches for answers, following addiction expert Dr. John Marsden as he observes--and participates in--experiments that assess alcohol's neurological and physiological impact.
- Making of a HangoverThis program tracks the physical and psychological changes in seven volunteers as they drink with their friends in a bar. Information is provided on alcohol's impact on the body, the worthlessness of inebriation remedies, the danger of alcohol poisoning, and genetic inputs for alcohol addiction.
- Binge drinking blowout : the extreme dangers of alcohol useExplores dangerous consequences of over consumption of alcohol by college students.