Alcohol and Other Drugs: An Undergraduate Research Guide : Drug Legalization
- Newspaper Source PlusNewspaper Source Plus includes 1,520 full-text newspapers, providing more than 28 million full-text articles.
- Newspaper Research GuideThis guide describes sources for current and historical newspapers available in print, electronically, and on microfilm through the UW-Madison Libraries. These sources are categorized by pages: Current, Historical, Local/Madison, Wisconsin, US, Alternative/Ethnic, and International.
- Drug Policy Forum of WisconsinThe Drug Policy Forum of Wisconsin website is one of a family of Wisconsin drug policy reform websites hosted by the good folks at DrugSense.org. These days, the DPFWI website functions as more of a historical archive of WI drug policy reform.
- Madison NORMLMadison NORML is the Madison, Wisconsin affiliate of the US National Organization for the Reform of Marijuana Laws (NORML) and was founded in August 2004.
- Drug Policy AllianceThis group claims to be "the leading organization working to broaden the public debate on drug policy and to promote realistic alternatives to the war on drugs based on science, compassion, health and human rights."
- Marijuana Policy ProjectMPP is an activist group focusing on removing criminal penalties for marijuana use, with a particular emphasis on medical use.
- National Organization for the Reform of Marijuana Laws (NORML)NORML is a nonprofit, public-interest lobbying group that supports the removal of all criminal penalties for the private possession and responsible use of marijuana by adults.
- Partnership for a Drug-Free America (PDFA)The Partnership for a Drug-Free America is a non-profit coalition of professionals from the communications industry.
- Drug Prevention Network of the Americas (DPNA)The DPNA is a nonprofit corporation committed to the education and prevention of drug abuse in the western hemisphere.
- International Task Force on Strategic Drug PolicyThe International Task Force on Strategic Drug Policy (ITFSDP) is a network of professionals and community leaders from across the globe who support and promote effective drug demand reduction principles.
About Drug Legalization
The following sources offer pro and con arguments in the debate over the legalization of drugs. This guide will assist you in finding information about the government's war on drugs, anti-drug laws and drug decriminalization issues.
Try searching these terms using the resources linked on this page: narcotics AND (legaliz* OR decriminaliz*), (drugs OR narcotics) AND control, (legaliz* OR decriminaliz*) AND (drugs OR marijuana), war on drugs AND united states, marijuana AND (medic* OR therap*), cannabis AND (legal* OR decriminaliz*), (narcotics OR drugs) AND Native Americans
Overview Resources - Background Information
- Encyclopaedia Britannica OnlineBritannica Online is a searchable collection of authoritative references, including Britannica's latest encyclopedia articles.
- National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS)NCJRS is a federally funded resource offering justice and substance abuse information to support research, policy, and program development worldwide.
- Office of National Drug Control PolicyThe primary purpose of the White House Office of National Drug Control Policy is to establish policies, priorities, and objectives for the nation's drug control program.
- Opposing Viewpoints Resource CenterOpposing Viewpoints Resource Center (OVRC) provides viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles related to controversial social issues.
- U.S. Drug Enforcement AdministrationThe mission of the Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA) is to enforce the controlled substances laws and regulations of the United States.
- CQ ResearcherContains weekly in-depth reports that cover the most current and controversial issues of the day with complete summaries, insight into all sides of the issues, bibliographies and more.
- Drug Use for Grown-Ups: Chasing Liberty in the Land of Fear by Carl L. HartISBN: 9781101981641Publication Date: 2021
- Marijuana 360: Differing perspectives on legalization by Nancy E. Marion; Joshua B. HillISBN: 1442281669Publication Date: 2019
- Legalizing Cannabis: Experiences, Lessons, and Scenarios by Tom Decorte (Editor); Simon Lenton (Editor); Chris Wilkins (Editor)ISBN: 9781138370906Publication Date: 2020
- Chasing the Scream: The First and Last Days of the War on Drugs by Johann HariISBN: 9781620408902Publication Date: 2015
- A New Leaf by Alyson Martin; Nushin RashidianISBN: 9781595589293Publication Date: 2014-02-04
- Acid Test by Tom ShroderISBN: 9780399162794Publication Date: 2014-09-09
Articles - Scholarly and Popular
- Academic SearchIncludes scholarly and popular articles on many topics.
- SocINDEXIncludes articles on Sociology and Social Sciences topics.
Statistics and Data
- Drug Use and CrimeU.S. Department of Justice's Bureau of Justice Statistics provides statistical information on drug use and drug-related crimes.
- Illegal Drug UseStatistics on illegal drug use from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.