Skip to Main Content

Francophone Studies : Prizes and Awards

Scope Note

This page shows a list of various literary and film awards based in the francophone world.

Award Winning Books

Literary Prizes and Awards

Prix Femina
The Prix Femina is a French literary prize created in 1904 by 22 writers for the magazine La Vie heureuse, whose name has since changed to Femina. The prize is decided each year by an exclusively female jury, although the authors awarded are not limited to women. The winner is announced on the first Wednesday of November each year.
Prix Gabrielle-Roy
 Each year the Association for Canadian and Quebec Literatures (ACQL) awards two prestigious prizes in honour of Gabrielle Roy, one in English and one in French, for Canadian and/or Quebec literary criticism published within the designated calendar year.
Prix Goncourt
The Prix Goncourt is a prize in French literature, given by the Académie Goncourt to the author of "the best and most imaginative prose work of the year". Four other prizes are also awarded: prix Goncourt du Premier Roman (first novel), prix Goncourt de la Nouvelle (short story), prix Goncourt de la Poésie (poetry) and prix Goncourt de la Biographie (biography). Of the "big six" French literary awards, the Prix Goncourt is the best known and most prestigious.
Prix Goncourt des Lycéens
The Prix Goncourt des lycéens was created in 1987 as a sort of younger sibling of the Prix Goncourt, a prize for French literature. The ten members of the Académie Goncourt select twelve literary works as nominees. Almost 2,000 lycéens read all twelve novels, participate in discussions and debates about them, and ultimately vote on the winner. While the prize bears the name of the Académie Goncourt, the competition is sponsored and organized by the French Ministry of National Education and the media retailer FNAC, with the stated goal of encouraging young people to read.
Prix littéraire France-Québec
The prix littéraire France-Québec is a literary award given annually by the Association France-Québec, with the goal of recognizing and promoting Quebec literature to readers. Started in 1998, it has been sponsored by Patrick Poivre d'Arvor since 2006.
Prix Médicis
The Prix Médicis is a French literary award given each year in November. It was founded in 1958 by Gala Barbisan and Jean-Pierre Giraudoux. It is awarded to an author whose "fame does not yet match his talent."

Film Awards

The Jutra Award

Annual award primarily for francophone film industry in Québec

Étalon de Yennenga

Awarded to winners of FESPACO