- University of Wisconsin-Madison
- Research Guides
- Francophone Studies
- Dissertations & Theses
Francophone Studies : Dissertations & Theses
Questions?
This guide was created by Kirstie Yu. It is managed by Kimberly Rooney and Emilie Songolo. For questions, please contact at emilie.songolo@wisc.edu.
Scope Note: Why dissertations?
Dissertations and theses are important because they:
- respresent years of research on a very specific topic
- have extensive bibliographies
- identify important primary and secondary sources
Databases for finding foreign dissertations and theses
La Grande Bibliothèque, Montréal
- Atelier national des reproductions des thèsesCreated in 1971 by the French Department of Education, The National Centre for the Reproduction of PhD Theses reproduces all authorized French university PhD theses on different material (in paper, microfilm and electronic format). – Our institution also ensures the distribution through different networks - public and professional – at national and international level.
- DART-Europe E-thesesDART-Europe is a partnership of research libraries and library consortia who are working together to improve global access to European research theses. DART-Europe is endorsed by LIBER (Ligue des Bibliothèques Européennes de Recherche), and it is the European Working Group of the Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD).
The DART-Europe partners help to provide researchers with a single European Portal for the discovery of Electronic Theses and Dissertations (ETDs), and they participate in advocacy to influence future European e-theses developments. DART-Europe offers partners a European networking forum on ETD issues, and may provide the opportunity to submit collaborative funding applications to achieve DART-Europe's vision for ETDs. - Thèses CanadaCanadian universities participate in the program voluntarily by submitting approved theses and dissertation to Theses Canada. Library and Archives Canada (LAC) staff are happy to provide advice to Canadian universities that are establishing electronic theses and dissertations (ETD) programs and welcome new electronic participants.
- Thèses.frl vise à donner sur le web un point d’entrée :
• à toutes les thèses de doctorat en cours de préparation en France
• à toutes les thèses de doctorat soutenues en France, quel que soit le support matériel de la thèse (document papier, numérique, édition commerciale…)
• aux personnes et organismes en lien avec ces thèses.
Finding UW and other U.S. dissertations and theses
- ProQuest Dissertations and ThesesIndexes UW-Madison doctoral dissertations from 1892, contains abstracts from 1980, and provides full text (PDF files) from 1997. Also provides access to other dissertations from U.S. institutions.