Francophone Studies : Articles, Journals, & Databases

Covers subjects in the humanities and social sciences, representing primarily French and Francophone scholarly publications. Subject areas include law, economics, business, geography, history, literature and language, philosophy, psychology, communications, education, political science, and sociology.

Humanities Index Complete is a comprehensive database covering more than 2,100 journals, books and other important reference sources published worldwide in the humanities, with a focus on literary, scholarly and creative thought. It provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for articles, essays, and reviews, as well as original creative works including poems, fiction, photographs, paintings and illustrations. Searchable cited references are available for many journals. This resource is licensed by BadgerLink/Department of Public Instruction for use by all Wisconsin residents. (Updated biweekly)

JSTOR is a full-text journal database which provides access to more than 1,200 titles in the fields of African-American studies, anthropology, architecture, Asian studies, biological sciences, botany, ecology, economics, education, film, finance, folklore, history, language, literature, mathematics, middle east studies, music, philosophy, political science, population/demography, religion, sociology, and statistics. Graphs, photographs, and other images are included.

The Modern Language Association International Bibliography indexes 4,000 periodicals in English and other languages as well as books, book chapters, and dissertations. Its subject matter includes critical works on literature, language, linguistics, film, and folklore. Though reviews of individual literary and scholarly works are not included, broader review essays ARE included. Approximately 50,000 citations from journals in JSTOR's Language and Literature collection are also included, providing access back to the 1880s for those titles. (Updated 10 times per year)

Project Muse provides full text access to more than 300 humanities and social science journals from various publishers. Disciplines covered include art, anthropology, literature, film, theatre, history, ethnic and cultural studies, music, philosophy, religion, psychology, sociology and women's studies. Coverage for most titles includes the most current issue, however some titles are archival (not current). Upd. 10/2009

Ethnic NewsWatch (ENW) features newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. With titles dating from 1990, ENW presents a comprehensive, full-text collection of more than 1.8 million articles from more than 315 publications offering both national and regional coverage.