Information for Federal Depository Library Staff in Wisconsin : FDL Discard Procedure for Wisconsin

Federal depository libraries in Wisconsin use the Government Publishing Office's FDLP eXchange tool to offer materials to other depositories in Wisconsin before discarding the materials.

Selective depository libraries in Wisconsin do not need to post the following items in the FDLP eXchange:

• microfiche publications
• publications which meet the "Supersession Criteria" listed in the FDLP Weeding a Depository Collection Guidance document (https://www.fdlp.gov/guidance/weeding-a-depository-collection )

The discard cycle is as follows:

• First Tuesday of the month: deadline for submitting up to 1,000 items for potential discard for review by the Wisconsin regional depository library. Use the FDLP eXchange to submit items.
• Items can be submitted to the FDLP eXchange for up to 21 days prior to this day.
• The regional has up to 21 days (three weeks) from this date to review the item, and to decide whether to request the item from the submitting library, or pass on the offer.
• Once the regional has passed on an offer, selectives in Wisconsin have up to 15 days to review the offers, and claim any items of interest.
• At the end of the 15-day selective-review period, the offering selective can either
  • discard the publication, or
  • offer it to depositories nationwide using the FDLP eXchange. Selective depositories may select the length of time for which they want to offer items nationally.

 If any of the publications are sold, the money must be sent to the Superintendent of Documents, Washington, DC 20402.

Offering titles nationally on FDLP eXchange

Wisconsin FDLs are not required to offer items nationally, but your library can choose to do so through FDLP eXchange.

GPO Digitization: GPO Needs Lists

The Government Publishing Office is actively digitizing content, with an immediate focus on adding historical, retrospective content to existing govinfo collections. GPO may accept materials from depository libraries for digitization. 

• If your depository is weeding any of the titles listed on this libguide, and volumes are not claimed within your region, please contact GPO at FDLPoutreach@gpo.gov. If any of the materials meet GPO's digitization needs, GPO will cover the cost of shipping the material to GPO.
• GPO's needs are also listed in FDLP eXchange, and will automatically match to any depositories that are offering nationally.

Weeding a Depository Collection

• Part of the FDLP Desktop.
• Among other topics, it covers the three ways depository material qualifies to be weeded from your collection.

Full report of the Wisconsin Discard Working Group, including the recommendation to use the FDLP eXchange tool for the discard process.  Distributed on September 13, 2021.

List of training resources from the Government Publishing Office, organized by members of the Wisconsin Discard Working Group.

• Overview of FDLP eXchange.
• Information about signing up for FDLP eXchange.
• Updated 4/4/23.

Quick links for help

FDLP Quickstart Guide for Selectives

• PDF with annotated screen shots from FDLP eXchange.

Exchange Tips 

• Web pages covering different aspects/functions of the FDLP eXchange.
• Beth H cannot discern how these are organized.

FDLP eXchange Training (videos and webcasts) 

• Links to brief, task-based training webcasts.
• These videos are available through Vimeo; you may have to create a (free) account to view them.
• Also has links to several webcasts that are around an hour long, including:
  • FDLP eXchange Training: Creating Spreadsheets
  • FDLP eXchange Training for Selectives
    • These longer webcasts have closed-captioning transcripts available for download.  Links to these transcripts appear at the very bottom of the page, under “Associated Files for Download.”

Condition Assessment Definitions 

• FDLP eXchange requires you to enter one of four conditions (Fine, Good, Fair, or Poor) for each offer.
• Definitions for these conditions can be found at GPO Digitization: GPO Needs Lists.  Scroll down to Preferred Condition box for the denfinitions..

Templates for offers and needs spreadsheets

• On the FDLP eXchange Instructions page, under “Training Materials & Templates.”
• You can download templates and sample spreadsheets in CSV and Excel formats.

FDLP eXchange Data Dictionary

• Describes the data maintained in FDLP eXchange. 
• Describes the type of data maintained in each field and the accepted values for those field. 
• Additionally, where only specified values are accepted, the data dictionary defines those values.