Open Educational Resources : Articles
Free online resources for students, teachers, and lifelong learners
Ask a Librarian at MERIT
If chat is offline, click here to Ask a Librarian via UW-Madison Libraries general library help chat.
Articles Search
Article & Book Delivery
Can't find an article online? Follow this link to to request the article be sent to your e-mail.
You can also use this link to request a book chapter.
Open Journals
- Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed articles and journals.
- The Journal of Open, Flexible and Distance Learning (JOFDL)The Journal of Open, Flexible and Distance Learning is a refereed journal published annually by DEANZ (www.deanz.org.nz). It publishes articles from around the world relating to primary research investigations, literature reviews, the application of distance education innovations, and the experiences of teaching at a distance.
- European Journal of Open, Distance and E-Learning (EURODL)The European Journal of Open, Distance and E-Learning (EURODL) is a refereed online journal on distance and e-learning, and publishes research, development and teaching about open, distance and e-learning as well as new dimensions of technology-enhanced learning.
- Open Review of Educational ResearchOpen Review of Educational Research publishes double-blind peer-reviewed articles from a multidisciplinary perspective. Their scope is underpinned by an approach to educational studies and research that is committed to the principles of openness in education and research, and by philosophies of education that seek to explore the purpose of education and the role of new open technologies which promote greater exchange, interactivity, sharing and collaboration across academic specialties and across cultures.
- Issues in Educational Research (IIER)ssues in Educational Research is a refereed academic research journal founded by the Western Australian Institute for Educational Research in 1991. From 1995, IIER has been published jointly by Australia's Institutes for Educational Research in New South Wales, South Australia and Western Australia. It covers a broad range of global education topics. Their journal does a double blind peer review for all articles.
- The International Review of Research in Open and Distributed LearningThe International Review of Research in Open and Distributed Learning (IRRODL) is a refereed, open access e-journal that disseminates original research, theory, and best practice in open and distributed learning worldwide.
- InSight: A Journal of Scholarly TeachingInSight is a refereed scholarly journal published annually by the Center for Excellence in Teaching and Learning (CETL) at Park University. It emphasizes the enhancement of post-secondary education through the professional exchange of scholarly approaches and perspectives applicable to the enrichment of teaching and learning. Relevant to this mission, articles are geared toward post-secondary faculty and administrators; included in this audience are full-time and adjunct faculty; face-to-face, hybrid and online faculty; tenure and non-tenure track instructors; trainers in corporate, military, and professional fields; adult educators; researchers; and other specialists in education, training, and communications.
Searching within UW-Madison's Resources: Journal Article Databases
The following databases contain articles about Open Educational Resources. Searching these databases will allow you to find journal articles on various topics. When searching for articles about OER, consider keywords such as: "open educational resources", "OER", "open access", "educational resources", "*distance education", "open data movement", "open access publishing", "open source products", "open source software", "open textbooks", "open textbooks analytics system". and "education technology."
Librarian
Need to Cite Articles, Books, or Web Pages?
For assistance with citations, check out the following resources:
- UW-Madison Libraries' Citing Sources video tutorial
- UW-Madison Writing Center's Writer's Handbook, which has tips on citation styles (APA, Chicago, CBE, MLA, etc.).
- Information on how to avoid plagiarism from UW-Madison's Writing Center
- Zotero: a free-to-use citation manager to help you organize your references and create bibliographies