Subject Guide
Ask a Librarian
Need Help?
Federal Court Cases
- Indian Law News Bulletins byThis excellent service contains news about and documents from significant Indian law cases heard by courts of all jurisdictions and levels. May include briefs and petitions for certiorari, in addition to court opinions.
- Seminal U.S. Supreme Court Cases Regarding Federal Indian LawWisconsin Judicare's Indian Law Office provides links to many Supreme Court decisions that have shaped Native American law dating back to 1831.
- Indian Law Reporter byPublication Date: 1974-PresentTribal court and federal court opinions at both the trial and appellate court levels back to 1974. Updated monthly, it reports all tribal court decisions that it receives. Each case is summarized and, depending on its content, is reproduced in full, abridged or excerpted.
In the Courts of the Conqueror by Publication Date: 2010
Indian Law Stories by Publication Date: 2010
Cases and Materials on Federal Indian Law by Publication Date: 2006
Native American Sovereignty on Trial by Publication Date: 2003Landmark Indian Law Cases
Publication Date: 2002- American Indian Law: Cases and Materials, 3rd ed. byPublication Date: 1991 with 1996 supplement
- Top fifty : a collection of significant Federal Indian casesPublication Date: 1990
Indian Territory Cases
An Indian Territory was created in the 1830s when the "Five Civilized Tribes:" the Cherokee, Creeks (or Muscogees), Choctaw, Chickasaw and Seminole, were forcibly relocated to lands west of the Mississippi River. The Indian Territory included much of what is now the state of Oklahoma. By Congressional action, a United States Court was established in the Indian Territory in 1889.
- Indian Territory Reports.Location: State Collection, 2nd Floor, LLMC Digital, and OK State Courts Network
7 v. Cases determined in the United States Court of Appeals for the Indian Territory, 1896-1907. Each volume has a subject index. When Oklahoma became a state in 1907, and state and federal district courts were created, the United States court in the Indian Teritory ceased, and cases were transferred to the new courts. Note: It appears that Indian Territory cases are also reported in the Southwestern Reporter. - Digest of the Reported Decisions of all the Courts of Oklahoma and Indian Territory down to 1908.Location: Microforms Collection, 2nd Floor, West, Native American Materials Collection, no. 1710.
A digest of the reported decisions of all courts of the Oklahoma and Indian Territory in 1908, compiled under the American Digest classification, published in 1908, in two volumes.
Indian Claims Commission
The Indian Claims Commission was created by Congress in 1946 to hear and decide all pre-1946 Indian claims against the United States. There was no statute of limitations to bar a claim, as long as the cause of action occurred before August 13, 1946. Personal claims of individual Indians were not accepted. Relief granted by the Indian Claims Commission was limited to money damages. Decisions could be appealed to the Court of Claims. In 1978, the remaining cases, about 100, were transferred to the Court of Claims as Congress expanded the Court of Claims jurisdiction to include Indian claims arising after 1946.
- ProQuest Indian Claims InsightTrace the history of specific claims made by tribal nations against the United States and access associated full text documents. Includes docket histories, court documents, treaties, congressional publications, and maps.
- Indian Claims Commission DecisionsDecisions of the Indian Claims Commission were never formally printed and bound. In 1971, the Native American Rights Fund was authorized by the Commission to reproduce and distribute the decisions. The forty-three volumes and index of the Indian Claims Commission are reproductions of originals provided by the Commission except where illegible copy has required certain sections be retyped.
- Expert Testimony Before the Indian Claims Commission: The Written ReportsPublication Date: 1973-1978
- Index to the Expert Testimony Before the Indian Claims Commission byPublication Date: 1973
- Final Report byPublication Date: 1978Contains an alphabetical index of Indian Claims Commission cases, an index by docket number, fiscal year totals of dockets completed and awards and text, map and a chart of Indian Land Areas Judicially Established.
Court of Claims & United States Claims Courts
The Court of Claims has received Indian claims through four avenues: cases of special jurisdiction, as provided by special acts of Congress prior to 1946; appeals from judgments of the Indian Claims Commission; cases transferred to it when the Indian Claims Commission was terminated in 1978; and claims arising after August 13, 1946.
- Cases Decided in the United States Court of ClaimsPublication Date: v.1 (1863/1865) - v.231 (1982)Location: U.S. Documents Collection, 1st Floor, West Wing
- United States Claims Court ReporterPublication Date: v. 1-26 (1983-1992)In 1982, the newly created United States Claims Court assumed the trial court jurisdiction of the Court of Claims, which had been abolished. Beginning in 1983, decisions were published in the United States Claims Court Reporter, v. 1-26 (1983-1992). Then it's name changed again to the United States Court of Federal Claims, and it decisions published in the Federal Claims Reporter, v. 27 (1993- ), infra.
- Federal Claims ReporterPublication Date: v. 27 (1993)-Presents cases decided in the United States Court of Federal Claims and selected decisions of the United States Court of Appeals, Federal Circuit and Supreme Court of the United States in review.