Subject Guide
Ask a Librarian
Need Help?
United States Code (code)
Codes contain all statutes currently in force in a jurisdiction at the time of publication and are arranged topically. In the United States, the official code is the United States Code. The United States Code Annotated and the United States Code Service are unofficial codes.
- United States Code (official print)This is the official edition of the US Code. Note that editions are only published every 6 years but are supplemented annually.
Coverage: Current & immediately preceding editions 5th floor, other superseded editions on 1st floor - United States Code Annotated (print)This unofficial set contains additional annotations prepared by the publisher. Kept up to date by revised volumes, pocket parts and special and supplementary pamphlets.
Coverage: Current edition on 5th, superseded editions in microform - United States Code Service (print)This unofficial set contains additional annotations prepared by the publisher. Kept up to date by revised volumes, pocket parts, and special and supplementary pamphlets.
Coverage: Current edition on 5th - HeinOnline U.S. Code (online)Current and all superseded editions of the official US Code in PDF.
Coverage: 1925/26 - current edition - govinfo (online)Executive, legislative and judicial materials from the United States Government Printing Office. Includes the Federal Register, Congressional Record, U.S. Code, U.S. Statutes at Large, Code of Federal Regulations, Federal Budgets, Congressional bills, hearings, committee prints, and more.
Coverage: varies - current edition - ProQuest Congressional (online)Index and many full text congressional publications. Includes acts, bills and resolutions, committee reports, conference committee reports, hearings, regulations, selective legislative histories, the Congressional Record (bound & daily editions) & predecessors, the Serial Set, and more.
Note that, unlike PQ Legislative Insight, PQ Congressional includes both enacted and un-enacted legislation. However, it is not as complete.
Coverage: selected = 1st Congress (1789) - current
full = 91st Congress (1969/70) - Westlaw (online)Westlaw has the current edition of the United States Code and the current and superseded editions of United States Code Annotated.
Coverage: 101st Congress (1989/90) - current edition. - LexisNexis (online)LexisNexis has the current editions of the United States Code Service.
Coverage: 101st Congress (1989/90) - current edition.
Statutes at Large (session laws)
When a law is enacted, it is assigned a sequential act number and printed in slip form (called a slip law). Laws may be public or private.
After the legislative session ends, public and private laws passed during that session are printed chronologically in the session laws. In the United States, the session laws are called the Statutes at Large.
- United States Statutes at Large (print)This is the official edition session laws of the United States.
Coverage: 1st Congress (1789) - current edition - United States Code Congressional and Administrative News (print)USCCAN reprints the United States Statutes at Large along with select congressional reports, signing statements, etc.
Coverage: 77th Congress (1941) - current - HeinOnline Session Laws Library (online)HeinOnline publishes the complete Unites States Statutes at Large, as well as session laws for all states.
Coverage: 1st Congress (1789) - current - ProQuest Legislative Insight (online)Full text congressional publications including the public law, all bill versions, floor debate from the Congressional Record, committee reports, conference committee reports, hearings, and prints.
Offers a very complete legislative history, but only available for enacted legislation. For un-enacted legislation, see PQ Congressional
Coverage: 71st Congress (1929/30) - current - ProQuest Congressional (online)Index and many full text congressional publications. Includes acts, bills and resolutions, committee reports, conference committee reports, hearings, regulations, selective legislative histories, the Congressional Record (bound & daily editions) & predecessors, the Serial Set, and more.
Note that, unlike PQ Legislative Insight, PQ Congressional includes both enacted and un-enacted legislation. However, it is not as complete.
Coverage: selected = 1st Congress (1789) - current
full = 91st Congress (1969/70) - Congress.gov (online)The Library of Congress publishes federal legislative materials including public laws, bills and bill tracking, resolutions, the Congressional Record, and committee reports.
Coverage: 1995 - current (continuously updated) - govinfo (online)Executive, legislative and judicial materials from the United States Government Printing Office. Includes the Federal Register, Congressional Record, U.S. Code, U.S. Statutes at Large, Code of Federal Regulations, Federal Budgets, Congressional bills, hearings, committee prints, and more.
Coverage: varies - current edition - Westlaw (online)Westlaw's US Public Laws and US Public Laws Historical libraries contains laws passed by the United States Congress.
Coverage: 93rd Congress (1973/74) - current - LexisNexis (online)LexisNexis has some current and older US public laws.
Coverage: 107th Congress (2001/02) - current edition. - Appropriations LegislationA chart covering appropriation legislation including links to conference reports, conference report votes, and links to the law. After 2000, also includes links to both House and Senate versions of proposed legislation, full and sub committee votes along with links to committee reports and votes on the legislation in each chamber.
Coverage: Fiscal years 1998 (Oct 1998 to Sept 1999) - current