This book by Amy Sloan is a good step-by-step guide to legal research with lots of helpful illustrations. See the chapter on federal legislative history research.

This directory offers biographical information about members of Congress from 1774 to the present.

The cloture rule (Senate Rule 22) is the only formal procedure that Senate rules provide for breaking a filibuster. A filibuster is an attempt to block or delay Senate action on a bill or other matter. This guide explains the process.

This article from the Brooklyn Law Review discusses the Supreme Court's use of legislative history to confirm or reinforce what it already has concluded is the plain meaning of statutory text.
76 Brook. L. Rev. 901 (2010-2011).

These video tutorials explain the following topics: Overview of the Legislative Process, Introduction and Referral of Bills, Committee Consideration, Calendars and Scheduling, House Floor, Senate Floor, Executive Business in the Senate, Resolving Differences, and Presidential Actions

This guide covers the types of hearings, hearing schedules, and how to locate hearing testimony.

This guide explains how to find text in the Congressional Record and the difference between pagination in the daily and bound editions.

This excellent guide from the Tarlton Law Library offers tips on compiling a federal legislative history, from the first steps to locating specific documents. Includes several useful illustrations.

This guide from the Law Librarians' Society of Washington, D.C. explains what legislative histories are, why they are used, how the legislative process works, and how to find legislative materials.

The Library of Congress offers this basic outline of resources to consult when first researching a federal legislative history.

This guide by Steven M. Barkan, Roy M. Mersky, Donald J. Dunn is a well known and respected guide to legal research. There is a chapter on Federal Legislative Histories.

Glossary of legislative terms from the Congressional Deskbook.

This book provides a guide to conducting Congressional hearings. It covers formal procedures and rules, and common committee practices. It discusses hearings preparation, such as scheduling, invitations to witnesses, and publicity and media considerations; and procedural elements, such as quorums for taking testimony, oaths and questioning witnesses.

The House Rules and Manual is published by the House Parliamentarian's Office. This document is formally entitled Constitution, Jefferson's Manual, and Rules of the House of Representatives and contains the fundamental source material for parliamentary procedure used in the House of Representatives.

This book from Congressional Quarterly is useful for understanding the workings of Congress. See specifically, chapter 2, the Legislative Process.

This white paper from ProQuest describes what committee prints and CRS reports are and how they might be useful in doing legislative history research.

This guide by Michael D. Murray and Christy Hallam DeSanctis has a short chapter on how to compile a Legislative History.

The Nutshell Series from West offers short, easy to use, plain English legal guides. This Legal Research guide is no exception. The chapter on Legislative Information includes a section on legislative history sources.

This guide from the Georgetown Law Library describes the various legislative sources and how to find them.

This short Pace Law Library guide describes how to find legislative sources and compiled histories.

This CRS Report provides an overview of federal legislative history research, the legislative process, and where to find congressional documents. The report also summarizes some of the reasons researchers are interested in legislative history, briefly describes the actions a piece of legislation might undergo during the legislative process, and provides a list of easily accessible print and electronic resources.

This article from the Berkeley Journal of Employment and Labor Law analyzes the use of legislative history in Supreme Court opinions on workplace law from 1969-2006. The authors propose that legislative history reliance is associated with a constraining set of results.
29 Berkeley J. Emp. & Lab. L. 117 (2008).

Interesting legal research guide presented in a question and answer format. The chapter on Legislative History addresses questions on the use of legislative history, legislative process, types of legislative materials, sources for locating materials, etc.

The Library of Congress has prepared this useful guide to understanding and locating presidential signing statements.

This Congressional Research Service report analyzes the historical use and Constitutional implications of signing statements.

This basic guide by Kent Olson has a section on Congressional Research Sources which describes sources for legislative materials.

This WI Law Review article discuss the Supreme Courts use of legislative history and how it changed in the 1990s.
2000 Wis. L. Rev. 205 (2000).

The legislative process on the Senate floor is governed by a set of standing rules, a body of precedents created by rulings of presiding officers or by votes of the Senate, a variety of established and customary practices, and ad hoc arrangements the Senate makes to meet specific parliamentary and political circumstances.

The U.S. Senate offers this glossary of legislative terms.

Recognized as a core text on statutory construction, this resource lays out the principles of statutory interpretation. Topics include legislative power, legislative organization and procedure, legislative form, legislative applicability, statutory interpretation, and application of the principles of statutory construction in selected areas of substantive law.

This article from the South Western University Law Review examines Supreme Court cases decided during the 1992 Term to illustrate how the Court uses legislative history, what sources it relies on, and whether it should be used at all.
23 Sw. U. L. Rev. 47 (1993-1994).

The Congressional Research Service report offers tips on how to find and interpret text in the Congressional Record.

The article in Perspectives explains what committee prints are, why you might want to use them, and where to find them.
19 Perspectives: Teaching Legal Res. & Writing 130 (2011).