What is Zotero?
Zotero
Zotero is a free, online and desktop citation manager. Like all of the citation managers included in this guide, Zotero can help you to collect, organize, format, and share your citations.
The most current version of Zotero is version 7.
Creating your Zotero account
Instructions for creating and setting up your Zotero (version 7) account can be found in this handout for Windows, this handout for Mac, or in the video embedded below.
Handouts for Zotero
The handout linked below contains detailed, step-by-step instructions on how to use Zotero.
Handouts for Version 7 of Zotero
-
Zotero Tips for Windows (Zotero 7)This handout includes instructions for creating, setting up, and using your Zotero account on a Windows computer.
-
Zotero Tips for Mac (Zotero 7)This handout includes instructions for creating, setting up, and using your Zotero account on a Mac computer.
Handouts for past version of Zotero
-
Zotero Tips for WindowsThis handout includes instructions for creating, setting up, and using your Zotero account on a Windows computer.
-
Zotero Tips for MacThis handout includes instructions for creating, setting up, and using your Zotero account on a Mac computer.
Videos for Zotero
Below are videos containing step by step instructions on how to use Zotero (version 7).
Citation Management Resources: This video shows how you can find additional citation management resources.- Creating an account and installing Zotero: This video contains instructions for how to create an account and install Zotero.
- Syncing your library: This video contains instructions for how to sync your Zotero library.
- Importing citations from scholarly databases: This video contains instructions for importing citations into Zotero from a variety of scholarly databases.
- Importing citations using the Zotero Connector tool: This video contains instructions for importing citations using the Zotero Connector tool.
- Creating citations manually: This video contains instructions for creating citations manually in Zotero.
- Extracting citations from PDFs and attaching PDFs: This video contains instructions for extracting citation information from PDFs and attaching PDFs to citations in Zotero.
- Organizing citations into collections: This video contains instructions for organizing citations into collections in Zotero.
- Creating and sharing a group library: This video contains instructions for creating and sharing a group library in Zotero.
- Using the Zotero plugin for Microsoft Word: This video contains instructions for using the Zotero plugin for Microsoft Word.
- Using the Zotero plugin for Google Docs: This video contains instructions for using the Zotero plugin for Google Docs.
Have questions? Reach out!
Have additional questions, or would like direct Zotero support? Reach out to Paije Wilson, the Ebling Library's Citation Management Coordinator, at paije.wilson@wisc.edu.
To see the complete list of citation manager consultants at UW-Madison, see the consultants page of the UW-Madison Libraries' Citation Managers Guide.
Quick Links
-
Zotero LoginThis link will take you to the login screen for Zotero.
-
Zotero ForumsThe Zotero forums contain helpful troubleshooting advice from Zotero users, and allow account holders to post and answer questions relating to Zotero.
Additional Resources
-
Zotero DocumentationThis site contains support documentation for setting up and using Zotero.
-
Zotero for Google DocsThis link takes you to a page containing instructions for how to use Zotero's Google Doc plugin. This plugin allows you to add Zotero citations to a Google Doc.
-
UW-Madison Libraries' Citation Manager Comparison ChartThis chart provides a comprehensive comparison of the available functions in EndNote Basic, EndNote 20, Zotero, and Mendeley.
-
UW-Madison Libraries' Citation Managers GuideThis is the UW Libraries' guide to citation managers, which provides general information on installing and using EndNote Basic, EndNote 20, Zotero, and Mendeley.
-
UW-Madison Libaries' Citing Sources GuideThis guide provides information on how to cite sources using different citation styles.
-
UW-Madison Writing CenterThe Writing Center supports writers affiliated with the University of Wisconsin-Madison. The Writing Center provides writers with support, resources, community, and accountability at any stage of the writing process.