What is EndNote 20?
EndNote 20
EndNote 20 (aka EndNote Desktop) is a robust, online and desktop citation manager that requires a paid subscription. Like all of the citation managers included in this guide, EndNote 20 can help you to collect, organize, format, and share your citations.
Installing and Setting Up EndNote 20
The University of Wisconsin-Madison does not have an institutional license to EndNote 20. EndNote 20 can be purchased as an individual license through Clarivate's website, which has discounts for students or those upgrading from an older version of EndNote Desktop. Faculty and staff have the additional option of purchasing individual or bulk licenses through Shop@UW+, which may offer discounted pricing. Once you have purchased EndNote 20, you should receive instructions for installation.
Once you have EndNote 20 installed, instructions for creating a new library can be found in this handout for Mac, or this handout or the video embedded below for Windows.
Handouts for EndNote 20
The handouts linked below contain detailed, step-by-step instructions on how to use EndNote 20.
Handouts for Windows Users:
- EndNote 20 General Setup (Windows)This handout includes instructions for customizing your EndNote 20 account for UW-Madison, creating a new library, importing terms lists, and selecting and importing output styles.
- EndNote 20 Tips (Windows)This handout contains instructions for using EndNote 20.
- EndNote 20 Cite While You Write Plugin (Windows)This handout contains instructions for using EndNote 20's Word plugin (Cite While You Write).
Handouts for Mac Users:
- EndNote 20 General Setup (Mac)This handout contains instructions for customizing your account for UW-Madison, creating anew library, importing terms lists, and selecting and importing output styles in EndNote 20.
- EndNote 20 Tips (Mac)This handout contains instructions for using EndNote 20
- EndNote 20 Cite While You Write Plugin (Mac)This handout contains instructions for using EndNote 20's Word and Pages plugin (Cite While You Write).
Videos for EndNote 20
Below are videos containing step by step instructions on how to use EndNote 20.
Citation Management Resources: This video shows how you can find additional citation management resources.- Creating a Library: This video contains instructions for how to create a library in EndNote 20.
- Importing Citations from PubMed: This video contains instructions for importing citations from PubMed into EndNote 20.
- Previewing and Editing Citations: This video contains instructions for previewing and editing citations in EndNote 20.
- Attaching PDFs: This video contains instructions for attaching PDFs to citations in EndNote 20.
- Organizing Citations into Groups: This video contains instructions for organizing citations into groups in EndNote 20.
- Syncing a Library and Sharing Groups: This video contains instructions for syncing a library and sharing groups in EndNote 20.
- Sharing a Library: This video contains instructions for sharing a library in EndNote 20.
- Cite While You Write: This video contains instructions for using the EndNote 20 Cite While You Write plugin in Microsoft Word.
- Cite While You Write for Collaborating: This video contains instructions for using the EndNote 20 Cite While You Write plugin for collaborating on Microsoft Word documents.
- Backing Up Your Library: This video contains instructions for backing up your EndNote 20 library.
- Importing Terms Lists: This video contains instructions for importing terms lists in EndNote 20.
Have questions? Reach out!
Have additional questions, or would like direct EndNote 20 support? Reach out to Paije Wilson, the Ebling Library's Citation Management Coordinator, at paije.wilson@wisc.edu.
To see the complete list of citation manager consultants at UW-Madison, see the consultants page of the UW-Madison Libraries' Citation Managers Guide.
Quick Links
- EndNote Basic LoginThis link will take you to the login screen for EndNote Basic. When you have a subscription to EndNote 20, you can sync your EndNote 20 account with your EndNote Basic account so that you may access and modify citations online.
- Contact ClarivateYou can use this page to contact Clarviate (the developers of EndNote and EndNote Basic) for EndNote 20 support
Additional Resources
- Clarivate's EndNote 20 Support MaterialsThis site contains support materials for EndNote 20 created by Clarivate (the developers of EndNote and EndNote Basic).
- UW-Madison Libraries' Citation Manager Comparison ChartThis chart provides a comprehensive comparison of the available functions in EndNote Basic, EndNote 20, Zotero, and Mendeley.
- UW-Madison Libraries' Citation Managers GuideThis is the UW Libraries' guide to citation managers, which provides general information on installing and using EndNote Basic, EndNote 20, Zotero, and Mendeley.
- UW-Madison Libaries' Citing Sources GuideThis guide provides information on how to cite sources using different citation styles.
- UW-Madison Writing CenterThe Writing Center supports writers affiliated with the University of Wisconsin-Madison. The Writing Center provides writers with support, resources, community, and accountability at any stage of the writing process.