What is EndNote Basic?
EndNote Basic
EndNote Basic (aka EndNote Online), is the free, online version of EndNote. Like all of the citation managers included in this guide, EndNote Basic can help you to collect, organize, format, and share your citations.
Creating your EndNote Basic account
Instructions for creating and setting up your EndNote Basic account can be found in this handout, or in the video embedded below.
Handouts for EndNote Basic
The handouts linked below contain detailed, step-by-step instructions on how to use EndNote Basic.
- EndNote Basic TipsThis handout includes instructions for creating, setting up, and using your EndNote Basic account (including how to use the Cite While You Write plugin).
- Importing Citations into EndNote BasicThis handout contains instructions for importing citations from specific databases and via EndNote Basic's Capture Reference tool.
Videos for EndNote Basic
Below are videos containing step by step instructions on how to use EndNote Basic.
EndNote Basic Part 1: Creating and Authenticating Your Account: This video contains instructions for creating and authenticating your EndNote Basic account.- EndNote Basic Part 2: Importing Citations from PubMed: This video contains instructions for importing citations from PubMed into EndNote Basic.
- EndNote Basic Part 3: Importing Citations from Scopus: This video contains instructions for importing citations from Scopus into EndNote Basic.
- EndNote Basic Part 4: Adding Citations Manually: This video contains instructions for adding citations manually into EndNote Basic.
- EndNote Basic Part 5: Creating Groups: This video contains instructions for creating groups (i.e., folders) in EndNote Basic.
- EndNote Basic Part 6: Sharing Groups: This video contains instructions for sharing groups (i.e., folders) in EndNote Basic.
Where is the EndNote Capture Tool?
Clarivate has discontinued their EndNote Capture tool. If you still want to install and use the tool don't worry! We have a workaround you can use, which is provided in the file below.
Have questions? Reach out!
Have additional questions, or would like direct EndNote Basic support? Reach out to Paije Wilson, the Ebling Library's Citation Management Coordinator, at paije.wilson@wisc.edu.
To see the complete list of citation manager consultants at UW-Madison, see the consultants page of the UW-Madison Libraries' Citation Managers Guide.
Quick Links
- EndNote Basic LoginThis link will take you to the login screen for EndNote Basic.
- Contact ClarivateYou can use this page to contact Clarviate (the developers of EndNote and EndNote Basic) for EndNote Basic support.
Additional Resources
- Clarivate's EndNote Basic Support MaterialsThis site contains support materials for EndNote Basic created by Clarivate (the developers of EndNote and EndNote Basic).
- UW-Madison Libraries' Citation Manager Comparison ChartThis chart provides a comprehensive comparison of the available functions in EndNote Basic, EndNote 20, Zotero, and Mendeley.
- UW-Madison Libraries' Citation Managers GuideThis is the UW Libraries' guide to citation managers, which provides general information on installing and using EndNote Basic, EndNote 20, Zotero, and Mendeley.
- UW-Madison Libaries' Citing Sources GuideThis guide provides information on how to cite sources using different citation styles.
- UW-Madison Writing CenterThe Writing Center supports writers affiliated with the University of Wisconsin-Madison. The Writing Center provides writers with support, resources, community, and accountability at any stage of the writing process.